Just Put Your Sneakers On

17 Jan

If you read this blog regularly, you may know that I’m shooting for 600 miles of running in 2013. That may not seem like a lot to most of you, but to me, it is! I don’t run as consistently as I’d like when I’m not training for something. Let’s look at a comparison of mileage from last week to this week:

comparison

 

So, yeah, last week, I was on top of the world. This week, it’s been a struggle to just pound the pavement (or the treadmill, as the case may be). Yesterday, however, I managed to get a treadmill run in, but it was a struggle. As I mentioned in yesterday’s post, I was pretty sleepy in the morning and I forgot my headphones/phone at home, so instead of running I went to a class. When I got home from work, Zach and I decided to go out to dinner with friends instead of eating in, so I knew I had the time to get a run in, but then the excuses started: I’m hungry, I’m tired, I’ll have to shower in order to not go to dinner a sweaty mess, and on and on.

So, I had a snack:

snack

Which, by the way, was one of the best pre-run snacks I’ve had. I’m back on a banana kick in a big way. I melted two Hershey’s Special Dark miniature chocolate bars and combined them with a tablespoon of natural peanut butter. Stirred it all together and dipped my banana in in. I had some peanut butter burps during my run (gross), but it was worth it.

Anywho, even after my snack I was feeling ho hum about going for a run, but I told myself, “Just put your sneakers on!” and once I did I headed out the door. I was fighting it the whole time, even while getting settled on a treadmill, but once I started running I told myself I only had to log a mile. Then it was 2 miles, and then I said, “Ok, just thirty minutes!” — But once I hit 30 minutes, I realized I was only 0.13 miles from 3 miles, so I sprinted until I hit the three mark:

yesterdaySometimes all it takes is telling yourself to just put your sneakers on and go!

After my run, I was fully able to enjoy my sushi dinner with friends:

rolls

..and I was pretty proud of myself for sticking to the healthier rolls. I got Ume maki (on the left, my favorite — pickled plum!) and a veggie roll. Usually I go with a Tekke Maki (tuna roll), but I was feeling the veggies this time around. I also had a cup of Wonton Soup (not pictured), but the best part of dinner was the good friends and conversation!

Question of the Day:
How do you force yourself to go workout when you’re just not feeling like it? 

 

 

 

3 Responses to “Just Put Your Sneakers On”

  1. di @ life of di. January 17, 2013 at 10:24 am #

    The best way to get myself to the gym (when I am not feeling like it) is to 1) check what is on TV – each of the cardio machines at my gym has its own cable television built in (which is really helpful on a day of boring cardio) 2) just put on my workout clothes and go before I have a chance to over think it 3) think about how I won’t regret a workout but I may regret not working out 🙂

    • kristyshealthrevolution January 17, 2013 at 10:25 am #

      Love it! I’ve been wanting to try to watch The Biggest Loser at the gym, it really inspires me to work out. Maybe I’ll try it next week!

  2. Amber @ Busy, Bold, Blessed January 17, 2013 at 11:19 am #

    I tell myself just GET to the gym… even if that means I sit on a bike and read a magazine. It’s still better than nothing and most times if I get myself there I’ll end up putting in the effort for a good workout anyway.

Leave a Reply

