The Facts of Running

18 Jan

You take the good, you take the bad…

Cannot get that song out of my head this morning.

tootie

I may be showing my age here, but I loved that show. Remember Tootie, back in the day, was always wearing roller skates? I was the same way when I was a kid. I loved my roller skates.

I really don’t know what The Facts of Life has to do with anything, but I started singing that song this morning after I got back from the gym. This week has been really tough, motivation wise. It’s been difficult to talk myself into working out. Last week, I was in the zone, logging miles, hitting the weights, and I was just getting it done. This week, it’s been a struggle for me to get out of the house.

This morning, it was cold! It still is, in fact. It’s below freezing, which doesn’t happen too often around here, and though I got out of bed, I put on my warm robe and huddled under a cover on the couch for a good 20 minutes talking myself in and out of going to the gym. Sometimes I can talk myself out of it by swearing I will go after work, but that doesn’t always happen. Fridays, especially, are unpredictable, so I forced myself to put on my workout clothes and get to it. I grumbled on my way to the gym (it was so cold!) Then I dreaded stepping on that treadmill.

30 rock

I started walking on the treadmill and I could not get into the groove. The above is what I had to do to keep it going. I didn’t want to see the time pass, so I covered the display with my sweatshirt and put 30 Rock on my Kindle. I started jogging several times, but kept coming back to walking. It was rough, you guys. Finally, I decided to just do it. I stopped the treadmill for a bathroom break and I decided to just get some running in for at least a mile:

run

I’m sick of seeing treadmill displays too. Come on, Spring!

Not the fastest pace, but I was feeling it. I was sweaty and out of breath. It was definitely my hardest “run” of 2013.

Why are some runs great and some runs terrible? I know that it is technically all related to your sleep, hydration, fuel, etc., but sometimes you cannot predict it. I’m certain today’s struggle can be attributed to my mental state — I was not in the mood to run, and my body was just following suit.

But you know, running is like life. You take the good, you take the bad, you take them both and there you have The Facts of Running!

Question of the Day:
When was your last really great run? 

3 Responses to “The Facts of Running”

  1. Haley @ The Saucy Apple January 18, 2013 at 9:34 am #

    I feel your pain, Girlie. The half marathon I’m training for is in late February, and the long runs are getting long (in my mind at least)… 7 miles this coming Sunday. And the short runs are getting long (in my mind at least)… 4.5 miles yesterday, well, I was supposed to run yesterday. For me, I think so much of it is mental. When I’ve got it in my head that I don’t feel like running or that the distance is too long, I’m setting myself up for failure. When I’ve got it in my head that this is going to be the easiest run ever, it usually ends positively.

  2. di @ life of di. January 18, 2013 at 9:59 am #

    I think everyone has these days- don’t beat yourself up too much, at least you made it! 🙂 My last great run was in NOVEMBER! I ran the Turkey Trot on Thankgiving Day. I keep wanting to start running again but have been putting it off because A) I know I will have to start slow again B) it has been too cold to run outside and I am too much of a pansy to attempt winter runs C) I am afraid that I will do a couple of runs, see that I have completely lost my running ability and give up. Again, don’t feel too bad about your morning run today…we have all been there!

    • kristyshealthrevolution January 18, 2013 at 10:05 am #

      Yeah, I’m guilty of putting off running when it’s cold or I’ve gotten out of the habit. It’s weird how I do that, because I do LOVE to run!

Leave a Reply

