How I Spent My Weekend

21 Jan

Happy Monday!

I’m a little bummed that I’m at work this morning, as Zach is off today for Martin Luther King, Jr. Day. So, in order to perk things up a bit, I’ll relive my weekend a bit for you.

It was a good one! After work on Friday, I was pretty hungry so I decided to whip up dinner right away. We had taco night! I love taco night, and for some reason Friday is an especially appropriate day for tacos, in my opinion. I don’t have a photo of our taco spread, but it was pretty great. One thing I did with the leftovers the next morning was cooked up some scrambled eggs and mixed in leftover taco meat (turkey with seasonings) and mexican rice (homemade brown rice cooked in stock, diced tomatoes, and spices), and salsa:

2013-01-21 07.56.03

 

..it was a seriously yummy breakfast. In fact, I duplicated it this morning for my desk breakfast, which finished off the leftovers from Friday.

Back to Friday, after we ate, we watched a movie: Pitch Perfect!

Pitch Perfect

This movie was so cute! The very first thing I did after watching it was to download the soundtrack. I think (well, foreshadowing, I know) it will be so fun to run to!

We also went to a friends house on Friday night. It ended up being a very late night, we were out until 3:00 AM! So, Saturday ended up being kind of a bust as far as fitness goes. I woke up late, then I had a bunch of things to take care of before the evening. I tried to eat relatively healthy during the day because in the evening, we went out with some friends to dinner and drinks for Zach’s best man, Brian’s birthday.

Brian and his wife, Alana, live about an hour away from us, so we packed a few overnight necessities and spent the night with them. We had a very fun evening, and this morning I was feeling less than stellar. I didn’t regret it though. I love hanging out with them. They have a 3 year old daughter and a 1 year old son, who are so cute and fun to play with, and they also have 2 huge German Shepherds. For privacy sake, I don’t have any photos of the kids, but here’s a good one of their 100 lb German Shepherd, Vader, sitting in my lap:

2013-01-20 09.13.59

He doesn’t realize how big he is.

Despite not feeling so hot on Sunday, I was determined to get a run in. I had planned to take Margot with me, but she was having too much fun at the dog park to hang out with Aunt Kristy 😉 so I headed out on my own. I realized we had forgotten to return Pitch Perfect to the Redbox, which is about 1.5 miles from our house, so I figured that was a good place to head to first on my run.

2013-01-20 16.20.44

The weather was pretty great for a run. It was bright and sunny, but cold, so I wore my layers. After dropping off the movie, I ran towards downtown and just let my legs lead me where they wanted to go. I didn’t track my miles at all, I just  turned on the stopwatch on my phone with the intention of mapping it later to figure out my mileage and pace. I also listened to the Pitch Perfect soundtrack a bit, and I was right: Great running music!

I realized I hadn’t run by the Ohio River since the half marathon, so I headed in that direction. I felt a pull in my right quadricep, so I took the opportunity to sit by the river and stretch it out:

2013-01-20 16.38.31

It was such a nice day! After that, I headed toward home. Once I mapped my run, I realized I had gone about 4.3 miles. Not quite the five I had planned, but I’ll take it!

After my run, I headed home to clean, make a pizza for dinner, work on some wedding crafts and watch football. It was a very nice weekend!

Question of the Day:
How was your weekend? 

2 Responses to “How I Spent My Weekend”

  1. happyappalachy January 22, 2013 at 1:09 pm #

    I loved Pitch Perfect. Does the soundtrack have the La Roux remixes?

    • kristyshealthrevolution January 22, 2013 at 1:11 pm #

      The one I purchased doesn’t, but when I went to buy it, there were two, one was $9.99, one was $6.99. I obviously bought the one for $6.99, but I bet that was the difference.

Leave a Reply

