Ouch!

22 Jan

First of all, it is cold here!

I decided this morning that staying in my warm bed was preferable to walking to the gym in 7 degree weather. Brr!

I apologize in advance, this post is going to be all kinds of randomness:

We’re officially done with the toughest part of the week, hooray! I also got my week out to a good start yesterday with a nice treadmill run of 3.25 miles. Racking up those miles! I’m working on a graphic for my 600 mile goal in 2013, look for it at the end of January (I’ll be officially logging my miles by month).

Somehow, I managed to chip my very back bottom tooth on Saturday. It is driving me crazy! The tooth itself doesn’t hurt, but it’s got a jagged edge and it’s scraping my tongue. It’s hard to talk and eat, but you know I won’t let anything stop me from eating:

IMAG1040

A delicious and filling desk breakfast consisting of half a whole-wheat bagel with neufchatel, half a banana and half a pear with yogurt. Yum. The bagel was particularly hard to eat with the tooth issue, but I managed. I think I’m going to venture out in the world today and look for some soup for lunch. I have a dentist appointment next week.

I found out some exciting fitness-related news yesterday. The YMCA to which I am a member has introduced a Crossfit-type class!

crossfit

 

Actually, I have known this was coming for a while, but I just noticed the schedule on the wall yesterday. You have to reserve your spot in the class, because there is only room for 10 participants per class. You can sign up for a class only 3 days in advance, so today I called and reserved a spot in the Friday at 6:30 PM class. I’m nervous and excited! While this class isn’t called “Crossfit”, I know from word of mouth that they have set up a separate section of the gym for this class, and we’ll be doing intense workouts consisting of olympic lifts, and Crossfit style “Workouts of the Day”.  I’m excited because I’ve always wanted to try Crossfit, but it’s just out of my price range. The box in my town charges between $100 and $200 a month, and that is just not doable for me at this point. Not to mention, the box is all the way across town and it’s hard enough to get to the gym that is two blocks away from my house. After Friday’s class, I’ll do a full review here.

And, finally, in other news, I’ve started to follow Weight Watchers again.  A few friends are following it and finding great success, and I’ve also been very successful on the program in the past (I lost the vast majority of my weight following Weight Watchers). Now, I think in the healthy-living community, weight loss can be a touchy subject. I will say that the reason I’m looking to lose a few pounds is because I’m up about 10 pounds from my happiest weight. I think the thing I like the most about the Weight Watchers program is that really is a lifestyle, not a diet. It teaches you to eat regular food in a way that will help you lose or maintain your weight. I just think I’ve lost some of the lessons I learned from Weight Watchers, and I’m hoping to regain them.

So, I bought this little notebook:

notebook

..and I’ll be tracking points starting today. It has been hard for me to follow a weight loss plan recently, and hopefully Weight Watchers will do for me what it once did. The great thing about Weight Watchers for me is that I followed the plan for so long, I don’t feel the need to pay for it again, I still have my knowledge of the program and I’ll just use that rather than buying an online membership. I’ll let you know how it goes!

Question(s) of the Day:
What did you have for breakfast today? Have you ever chipped a tooth? Have you ever tried to lose weight, and if so, what worked for you? 

 

 

2 Responses to “Ouch!”

  1. happyappalachy January 22, 2013 at 1:08 pm #

    Crossfit sounds scary from what I’ve heard! You are a champ, though, so I’m not worried for you.

    I started tracking again, too, because I’ve hit a plateau since Thanksgiving on losing weight. I have ramped up my exercise routine, and am really wishing for warmer weather soon. This single-digit crap is for the birds!

Leave a Reply

