Healthy Living Survey

23 Jan

Good morning!

I’ve been feeling like my blog posts have been subpar lately, so I was glad to see this Healthy Living Survey on Tina’s blog  this morning. Maybe it’s a cop out, but I really like to keep up the habit of blogging daily.

Before I get started, I wanted to mention that despite a terrible, very bad, no good day yesterday, I’m feeling much better today! My chipped tooth was driving me crazy yesterday, and it was just a bad day at work. I did manage to go for a run though — well, kind of. I got on the treadmill for 22 minutes and only did 1.81 miles. But, I did it. That’s all that matters! I woke up this morning feeling much better, so I headed to the gym despite the frigid morning temps. I went to the Cardio Fusion class which was a killer today. By the end of the first circuit of weights, the instructor mentioned that it was time for cardio, but my heart was already pumping and my breathing was already heavy! Ha!

1. What did you eat for breakfast? 

No photo of this, because it looks really gross, but I ate peanut butter and jelly oats with an egg, and a very, very ripe pear. I cooked my oats in almond milk, added an egg while it was cooking and added one tablespoon each of peanut butter and preserves. SO good! Also, oatmeal has been keeping me full longer lately.

2. How much water do you drink each day? 

I have a 16 oz. cup on my desk at work that I fill up twice before lunch and three times after lunch. I’ll usually drink about 16 oz. during lunch (sometimes more, sometimes less) and then one or two 16 oz. cups during dinner/afterwards. So, that adds up to….between 112 and 128 oz/day! I’d say that’s an underestimate, however, because I usually drink some before/during/after my workout as well.

2012-11-08 13.12.00

My water cup at work.

3. What is your current favorite workout? 

Uhhh…running? I try so many different workouts, but running is the one thing I do consistently. I really need to get a better weight training schedule!

4. How many calories do you eat a day? 

Well, I don’t keep track. Right now I’m doing Weight Watchers and the thing I love about the new WW Points Plus plan is that calories aren’t even taken into account! Isn’t that awesome? All you put into the calculator is grams of fat, carbs, protein and fiber. I think there is just such an emphasis on calories and it gets confusing — like, the less calories you eat the more weight you will lose, but what people don’t understand is that calories aren’t little packets of evil. Calories are a measure of energy. You must ingest food so that your body can convert it to energy. If you don’t have enough fuel for your cells to make ATP over a long period of time, you will encounter many health problems and it can lead to death in very extreme cases!

Anywho, off my soapbox.

5. What are your favorite healthy snacks? 

I’m a snack fanatic. If I don’t pack snacks at work, I turn into a bear that can and will attack the vending machine at any second. My body runs most efficiently if I’m eating often. My favorite snacks consist of a protein source and a carb. For example:

  • Toast with peanut butter
  • An apple and a handful of almonds
  • yogurt and granola
  • cheese and crackers
  • carrots with yogurt dip
  • raw veggies and hummus

You get the point. A protein + a carb = snack satisfaction. I like that! Here’s a pinnable image for you:

SNACK

6. What do you usually eat for lunch?

I like to eat dinner leftovers, but if that’s not an option, I like soup and sandwiches, and sometimes I’ll just make a big bowl of sauteed veggies with cheese, which is delicious!

7. What is your favorite body part to strength train? 

Upper body for sure. Leg day is a killer.

8. What is your least favorite body part to strength train? 

I bet you thought I’d say legs, huh? Nope! It’s abs. I almost always avoid doing core specific exercises. I’d rather do sprints to train my core.

9. What are your “bad” food cravings? 

I hate calling food bad! I don’t think foods are bad, but I guess my unhealthiest cravings are super salty, savory food like chicken wings, pizza, chips…

10. Do you take vitamins/supplements? 

I really should. I don’t. I’ll occasionally take Vitamin D and a B complex, but it’s rare. It’s on my to-do list!

11. How often do you eat out? 

We try to eat out only once a week, but I value time with friends so if we’re invited it’s hard to say no!

12. Do you eat fast food? 

Very rarely! I like fast food french fries a lot, but I only eat them once in a blue moon. I really like Taco Bell, and I’ve been craving it for a while now, but I’ve held out. I have a feeling that I’m going to cave to that craving this weekend! P.S. I TRY to stick to the Fresca menu!

taco-bell

13. Who is your biggest supporter? 

Definitely Zach! He supports me in everything I do, not just fitness or health related. If I ever whine about not wanting to work out, he reminds me how much better I always feel after I do. What a guy

2012-08-30 19.46.54

14. Do you have a gym membership? 

Yep! And I’ll never give it up. I am constantly trying to find places to cut spending, but the gym membership is never on the chopping block. Even if I take a break from the gym for a few days to work out at home, having the treadmill for bad weather and the access to the classes is invaluable!

15. How many hours of sleep do you get each night? 

Well, it varies. I try to get 7 solid hours or more each night. I find if I go to bed early enough that I would get a full 8, however, I end up waking up too early and not being able to get back to sleep so I think my body requires 6-7 hours. If I let myself sleep and wake up naturally, I usually hit 6 and a half hours before waking.

16. Do you have a “cheat” day? 

I don’t really like the idea of cheat days. FOR ME, I find it hard to get back on track after a full-out extravaganza, so I tend to not do cheat days. I will sometimes allow myself a meal where I don’t concern myself with eating healthy for special occasions, but in general I just try to balance everything out. If I know I’m going out to eat with friends for dinner, for example, I’ll try to eat a little lighter throughout the day.

17. Do you drink alcohol? 

Yes.

18. Do you have a workout buddy. 

Unfortunately, I don’t. I’d really like to, I think, but I’m the type of person who concerns herself with others, so every time I’ve invited a friend to go workout with me, I end up worrying more about if they are doing ok than what I’m doing.

19. What is the best thing about your life that has changed since you began a healthy lifestyle? 

You know, I think people might think the obvious answer is that I feel better because I lost the weight:

before after

I think the best thing is that while, yes, I feel amazing, I have the most confidence in myself. If someone asked me to climb a mountain with them, I’d do it. I’ve never done it, but I know I can do it. While I have no desire to run a full marathon, I know I have the capability to do it. It’s awesome to feel like you can do anything. The other thing is that I know I’m healthy enough to do all the things I want to do, and if I keep up my lifestyle, I’ll live long enough to do it!

20. What was the last healthy thing you did? 

I  make healthy choices all day long. It’s pretty automatic, now, but sometimes I try. For example, I just made the choice to go to the kitchen at work and fill my water cup, rather than buying a soda from the machine. The 2007 me up there probably would have went soda, but I didn’t even think twice about it.

Question of the Day:
Answer a question above! Or, answer all of them on your blog and link me. 🙂 

5 Responses to “Healthy Living Survey”

  1. happyappalachy January 23, 2013 at 11:16 am #

    Great post! Reminded me to get up and pour a glass of water!

  2. cdanie11e January 23, 2013 at 12:37 pm #

    Ooh, I like this! Totally stealing this idea for my blog tonight! 😉

    Wonder if “chipotle” can be considered fast food, if not, I’m with yah on Taco Bell! That is *always* my choice if I’m forced to eat fast food on a road trip or something – it’s been awhile though!

    • kristyshealthrevolution January 23, 2013 at 1:05 pm #

      I never think of Chipotle or Qdoba as fast food or Subway either. I don’t really know why, though, because I guess technically they are.

  3. Haley @ The Saucy Apple January 23, 2013 at 2:27 pm #

    Aww, what thoughtful responses! I side with you on a lot of your nutrition philosophies (such as calories aren’t bad, food isn’t bad, cheat days are kind of weird when you come to think about them, etc.). We also try to eat out just once a week, but I’m just like you. If my friends are asking me out, I’m not going to turn them down.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. How to Pack Food for a Full Day at Work « Kristy's Health Revolution - January 25, 2013

    […] I mentioned the other day in my Healthy Living Survey, if I get overly hungry at work, I can and will attack the vending machine. It’s a habit […]

Leave a Reply

