Mondays Get a Bad Rap

28 Jan

I’ll be the first to admit that I don’t always give Monday the benefit of the doubt.

Waking up to that alarm after two days of waking up naturally is a bummer. Getting out of my warm bed and into the shower, rushing around to get breakfast ready for everyone, pets included, and going out into the cold to head to work for 8 hours after 2 days of doing whatever I want — not fun.

And, also, Mondays are always especially hard at work. Work has built up over the weekend (my workplace is open 7 days a week, so even when I’m not here over the weekend, something ends up on my desk), and there is always a lot of stuff to catch up on.

Here are the 3 things that are making me ready to tackle this Monday, and subsequent week, with a smile:

1. A yummy breakfast: 

breakfast

This weekend wasn’t the best for healthy eating. I tried to stay on track, but I had a few extra beers and a few less-than-perfect meals. Oh well. Loading up on fruit and a bit of whole grains should make up for it. I packed a banana, some yogurt, the bagel and the apple, but I found some leftover fruit in the fridge at work from a program this weekend. Melon isn’t exactly in season, but it was still yummy.

2. A great weekend with friends! 

Zach and I had a great weekend. We got to hang out with friends a lot, and he and I had some great quality time together. It was fabulous 🙂

Zach enjoying a lazy double cat Saturday morning.

Zach enjoying a lazy double cat Saturday morning.

3. A good weekend of fitness! 

Although I was feeling a bit under the weather this weekend, I did manage to get some fitness in. I went to my very first Crossfit class ever! Here was the WOD:

8 minute AMRAP (as many reps as possible):
15 Wall Balls
15 Kettlebell Swings
15 ring pull ups

…8 minutes? That’s it!? Uh, yeah, that was the most intense 8 minutes of my life. The class started out with some intense foam rolling and stretching that my legs definitely needed, then we moved on to learning form with deadlifts. Finally, it was time to do the WOD. My AMRAP? 2. Yep, only 2. But that’s 30 Wall Balls, 30 Kettlebell Swings, and 30 ring pull ups (modified) in 8 minutes. I’m pretty proud of myself, and boy was I sore the next day!

Yesterday, I spent most of the day helping Courtney set up for the Bridal Expo, and attending it myself (I’ll talk more about that in my Wedding Wednesday post this week). Since I didn’t want to spend 7 hours at the Expo, after I helped with set-up, paid my admission and scoped out the vendors, I went home for lunch. When it was about an hour before ending time, I put on my running clothes and went for a run around town, ending at the Civic Center. I helped Courtney and her partner Mark break down their table and then finished my run, ending up at a Yoga for Runner’s class at Studio 8 yoga. I’m not going to go much into that class, because while it was a great class, they were having their one year anniversary and the class was much too packed for my liking. I got there early so I ended up with my mat smack dab in the middle of the studio, packed with other yogis like sardines around me, with no escape route. That really got my anxiety level up, so I didn’t quite enjoy my practice like I usually do.

However, my run put at 14 miles for the week, and 49.62 for the month of January so far. That means I only have to run .4 miles before February 1st to reach my 50 mile goal for the month! Hooray!

This past week's mileage.

This past week’s mileage.

Also, I’m looking forward to my next Crossfit class, tomorrow at 6:15 AM!

There you go! The top 3 reasons I’m not going to let this Monday bring me down!

Question of the Day:
How are you going to avoid letting Monday bring you down? 

 

 

Leave a Reply

