I Drank the Kool-Aid

29 Jan

This morning (after a whopping 3 hours of sleep — ugh), I attended my second Crossfit….class? Seriously, someone tell me what I should be calling it, class doesn’t sound right.

Anywho, as I mentioned, I didn’t get a stellar night of sleep last night. I don’t know if this happens to anyone else, but there are some nights when I literally cannot keep my eyes open when I’m in the living room watching TV, but as soon as I lay down in bed, I’m wide awake. I lay down in bed at a little after 9, and didn’t fall asleep until at least midnight. Then, I was wide awake at 3:00 AM and wasn’t able to get back to sleep. I don’t know if I was anxious about my workout or what?

Well, I should have been. Today’s WOD was a doozie:

40 minutes AMRAP (as many reps as possible): 

50 double-unders
50 burpees (with a push up)
50 air squats
50 box jumps
50 push ups
50 wall balls
1.5 minute rest between each exercise

…!!! Let’s see, first of all, I ended up getting through all the exercises once, then finished my box jumps and was just about to start my first push up when he called time. I was pretty impressed with my performance, especially since I was one of only two girls and some of the guys called it quits before he called time. I pushed through and even though I was taking some breathers, I didn’t stop until he said time.

Since I’m new to Crossfit, I will assume you are also new to Crossfit. I read a lot of blogs of people who do Crossfit, and I’m usually really confused by the exercises, so let me break them down for you:

Double-unders

The goal of the double-under is to get the jump rope under your legs twice in one jump. In order to do this, you have to jump pretty high. I’ve always kind of struggled with jump rope, so I’m not quite there yet. Luckily our coach said we could do 100 singles if we struggled with the double-unders, so that is what I did.

Burpees

You probably know what a burpee is, but in case you don’t here’s what it looks like:

…except our coach made us add in the push up, too. Sigh.

Air Squats

The goal with the air squat is to really get down low. This is where I was able to excel. I pumped out both sets of 50 air squats in no time, even on the second go-around when I was tired. I solely credit my leg strength to swimming in high school and running now. I love squats!

Box jumps

I was going to show you a picture of someone jumping on an insanely high box, but I figured I didn’t want to mislead my readers. The box she is jumping on is about the height I used today. I’m pretty short, and nervous about falling/banging my shins, so I played it safe. This was another skill that I feel like rocked.

Push ups

I’m not going to show you a picture of this. I’ll assume you know what a push up looks like.

Wall Balls

I’ll be honest, when I saw wall balls on the agenda again today, I almost cried. For some reason last time I did a WOD, they almost killed me. But, I’m happy to say I powered through them this time. I am, however, glad I only ended up having to do one round!

You are supposed to go into a full squat, raise up, launch the ball to the desired height (at my box, there are two lines, one for females and one for males), catch it in a full squat and repeat. I used a 10 pound ball. I think next time we do wall balls, I’ll go up to 12 lbs.

I’ll tell you, I don’t know a time when I have sweat more than I did today! I’ve always kind of wished I was that person who worked so hard that their sweat literally dripped onto the floor, and today I achieved that. I started out with a guy who was pretty fit, so I was proud of myself for keeping up with him the whole time. I’d say that I have definitely drank the Crossfit kool-aid. I’m not going to start going 5 days a week or quit running, but I do think I’ll stick with 2 days a week for a while. I feel like a beast when I complete such a tough workout!

Question of the Day:
Have you ever tried Crossfit? Would you, if you had the chance? 

 


6 Responses to “I Drank the Kool-Aid”

  1. loseitbig January 29, 2013 at 9:34 am #

    Thinks for this…I am in need of a work out today and I may give this one a try…minus wall balls. I dont have the balls or the walls for that

  2. Molly January 29, 2013 at 1:27 pm #

    As I was looking down the list of the exercises, the second I go to burpess, I groaned in protest for you. THEN when I read the description of what a double-under is, I felt even worse. YIKES! What a workout, but it sounds like you kicked its butt 😉

  3. di @ life of di. January 31, 2013 at 5:27 pm #

    Oh my gosh! I had no idea how intense Crossfit was. I thought I was in shape but I know that there is NO WAY I could get through even one set of this list. Congrats on this girl – and keep it up! Maybe I’ll work a bit on my endurance and mixing it up a bit and then give Crossfit a try 😉

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Angie, Can’t You See? I’m in Misery! « Kristy's Health Revolution - January 31, 2013

    […] late for the 6:15 AM Crossfit WOD . I knew it would be tough, because I’m still sore from Tuesday’s workout! I must be a glutton for punishment, because I signed up for Friday evening’s workout […]

  2. I’m So Hungry and How to Keep the Treadmill Interesting « Kristy's Health Revolution - February 6, 2013

    […] with most treadmill “workouts” is that they are like work. If my recent obsession with Crossfit is any indication, when I’m working out at a gym, I prefer it to be more like playing on the […]

Leave a Reply

