Angie, Can’t You See? I’m in Misery!

31 Jan

(Today’s title should be read to the tune of Sandy from Grease.)

Well, first of all, yesterday’s post contained a bit of an error.

woo!

Yes, I realize September 28th is between the 21st and the 5th, not the 14th and 21st. That’s what I get for trying to quickly post a blog 10 minutes before I leave work 🙂

This morning, I woke up a little late for the 6:15 AM Crossfit WOD . I knew it would be tough, because I’m still sore from Tuesday’s workout! I must be a glutton for punishment, because I signed up for Friday evening’s workout as well, because I know a friend will be there, and I like working out with friends.

Today’s workout was a Benchmark WOD: Angie.

100 push ups
100 sit ups
100 pull ups
100 goblet squats

…hm. When I saw that this morning, I was feeling pretty intimidated. Especially since my chest was still so sore from Tuesday’s 50 push ups. Our coach said that we could do it however we wanted  — not necessarily 100 of one skill at a time. While we stretched, I tried to form a plan of attack. My original goal was to try to tackle all 100 of each skill, just breaking them up into sets of 10.

I did fine with the push ups and sit ups, but then I knew I wouldn’t be able to do 100 pull ups or goblet squats consecutively. First of all, there wasn’t enough space on the pull up bar for me to struggle through 100 pull ups without blocking other Crossfitters, and after about 10 pull ups my arms were toast and needed a break. So, I decided to try to do 20 of each alternating. That worked pretty well, and I ended up with a pretty good time: 27:35. I’m excited to do this workout again in the future, because I’d like to be able to either improve my time, increase the KB weight or take off some modifications (for example, I used a band on the pull ups).

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

I really wanted to show you my breakfast this morning, but I left my phone at home, so no picture. I made Tina’s microwave english muffin! It was….interesting. I did like it, it was just a little on the chewy side. I think I’ll microwave it a little less next time. I made it into a breakfast sandwich with an egg, turkey bacon, cheese and a smear of preserves. Yum. After re-reading Tina’s original post about it, I realize I should have toasted it after I sliced it. Tomorrow!

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Ok, let’s talk books. I think I’ve finished 3 books since last time I reviewed one. However, I just finished this one last night and I have to talk about it:

If you’re interested in Healthy Living at all, you must read this book! I haven’t seen the movie yet, but I do know it’s been nominated for a lot of awards, and has two of my favorite actors in the lead roles — that combined with the fact that, as I read this book I could just picture it as a movie makes me know I’ll love it!

Silver Linings Playbook follows Pat, a mentally unstable 34-year-old man, who was recently released from a mental institution into the care of his parents. Without giving away any spoilers, all you know is that Pat has been estranged from his wife for an undisclosed amount of time and he is determined to win her back after “apart time” is over.

This book was right up my alley. Part of Pat’s mental disorder is that he is obsessed with working out. He lifts weights most of the day and then goes for at least a ten-mile run. He wants to be in good shape when he reunites with his wife, so he imposes strict guidelines on his fitness. I think a lot of people can relate with that aspect of Pat’s psyche. For me, especially, when my life seems a little out of control, I turn to fitness in a big way. I know if I can’t control other aspects in my life, then I can control my fitness. I don’t think I’ve gotten to a point when I’ve been unhealthy about it, but I think it’s very easy to see how someone can get to that point.

I’ve read a few reviews on Goodreads about this book, and a lot of people describe it as “fun” and “lighthearted” — but for me, it’s really hard to put it into that category. What is fun and lighthearted about mental illness? However, I do see their point. The characters are really interesting and likeable (well, most of them), and it does feel like a fun and lighthearted read. Some of Pat’s hang-ups are a little comical.

I’m very excited to see this movie, and I highly recommend the book!

And, finally, please click here to see the best video of all time, and what I’m going to watch next time I’m struggling on the treadmill:

puppy

Question of the Day:
Tell me about the hardest workout you’ve done recently. 

4 Responses to “Angie, Can’t You See? I’m in Misery!”

  1. Molly January 31, 2013 at 1:13 pm #

    I’m giving you a HUGE round of applause over here because I don’t think I could do FIVE pull-ups. So I’m incredibly impressed that you did 10 🙂 It’s funny – I thought the same thing about reviews for that book (fun & lighthearted?!) but I still am really excited to read it. Sounds like it’s very good either way.

    • kristyshealthrevolution January 31, 2013 at 1:15 pm #

      …actually, I did 100!!! But, I was using a thick band under my knees for assistance, so they weren’t strict. And I’d say most of them I didn’t get all the way up to the bar. I did the best I could, though! I’ll improve!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fitness Confidence « Kristy's Health Revolution - February 13, 2013

    […] keep in mind that I did Angie in 27 minutes, which is also 100 reps, but is (in my opinion), a bit more difficult than this WOD, […]

  2. Angie, Round Two | Kristy's Health Revolution - April 19, 2013

    […] Last time I did this workout, I did it in 27:45. This time, however, our coach wouldn’t let us break up the reps. My heart sank when I heard that, because pull-ups are definitely not my strong suit. I wasn’t sure if I could do 100 pull-ups all at once without taking a million breaks. But, I did it! And better yet, I beat my previous time, with a finishing time of 25:47. Almost 2 minutes shaved off since the end of January. This is great news!! […]

Leave a Reply

