Brrr!

1 Feb

Hello, winter. snow

I took this from the relative warmth of my office. It’s freezing out there! It snowed a bunch overnight, and there is ice everywhere. Do. Not. Like. What is it with winter not showing up until well after Christmas? I want snow in December!

I had planned to try out a new treadmill workout this morning to share with you all, but I just didn’t feel like trudging to the gym in the dark in the snow. Sorry! I think I’ll try to get a quick run in before Crossfit tonight. Maybe not the best idea, but I’ve got to log those miles! Speaking of logging miles, I’m ready to unveil my fun new mileage counter graphic that I made:

600 miles in 2013 January

In order to complete 600 miles in 2013, I will need to run at least 50 miles each month. I run just a touch over in January. February is a short month, so I’m definitely going to need to get those miles in. My hope is that I’ll be logging more miles when the nice weather appears, slow down a bit in the dog days of summer, and then pick it back up again in Fall. Running outdoors in spring and fall is probably my favorite thing ever, so hopefully I can cover a few extra to carry me through the dreaded treadmill weather (like today!).

I realized that while I made some New Year’s resolutions early last month, I didn’t really cover monthly goals. That’s something I’d like to talk about today. I think making smaller, more attainable goals helps you achieve your long term goals. So let’s get to my February Goals, shall we?

Run 50 miles. Pretty predictable, huh?

Attend Crossfit 2x/week. My original NY resolution mentioned strength training 3x a week. Crossfit fits into the strength training genre, so this will work out nicely for me. I’ve definitely noticed some new muscle definition that I didn’t have before I did the Jamie Eason LiveFit Trainer, and I’m glad that my strength training is evolving. I’d like to keep that going.

Stick with counting Weight Watchers points for the full month of February. This is going fairly well. However, I have noticed that some of my regular eats haven’t been fitting into my alotted Weight Watchers points very well, so I’ve needed to find some substitutions. For example, the microwave english muffin came into play again this morning:

breakfast

…and that’s not to say that a regular english muffin wouldn’t fit into my daily points, but I didn’t have any, and this has less points than two slices of whole wheat bread, and more protein, so it’s a better fit for me right now. This one turned out better than my last one, and it’s so easy to make.

Complete 4 books this month. My goal is to read 50 books this year. Last month, I finished 6, so I guess my goal is to read over 50 books this year! Last year I was able to finish 36, and I read so many great books that I wanted to surpass that this year.

Do a little cleaning each day throughout the week. This one is huge. I’ve gotten into the habit of leaving housecleaning until the weekend. While that’s a good plan in theory, because I’m not at work, in practice it’s kind of a bummer that I have so much to do on the weekends. If I would just keep up with the small bits of cleaning, I could just focus on the big things, like cleaning the floors, scrubbing the bathroom and dusting on the weekends.

Write 5 blog posts a week. Preferably Monday – Friday. I’ve been pretty good about this so far, so I’m sure I can reach this goal.

…I think that’s enough to focus on for this short month!

Question of the day:
Do you set monthly goals for yourself? 

5 Responses to “Brrr!”

  1. Jen@HealthyFoodandFamily February 1, 2013 at 2:50 pm #

    Love the idea of monthly goals! I set some goals for the year, but I need to make some smaller, monthly goals as well. Thanks for the idea! Jealous you read 4 books this month, I’ve been working on 1 this month, just haven’t had the time!!!

  2. Looking Out The Window February 1, 2013 at 4:51 pm #

    I love your window and the idea for smaller goals.

  3. superfitandpregnant February 1, 2013 at 5:38 pm #

    Monthly goals work for me because I find them a lot easier to stick to than yearly goals (which I tend to forget)! I like to break them down into categories such as fitness, work, family, food etc., and then every time I achieve a particular goal I try and reward myself somehow. It doesn’t have to be a big reward, just something small 🙂

  4. di @ life of di. February 3, 2013 at 8:12 am #

    Great goals 🙂 I should try and meet a monthly running goal. Maybe it would help motivate me a little bit 🙂

    As for my goals: I have a notebook in which I take notes at church, do devotionals or any bible study time – smack dab on the first page is my list of ‘resolutions’ or goals. They are separated by categories: 1) Personally (includes limiting social media, reading 52 books this year, cut back on my swearing) 2) Marriage (limit distractions when talking with Marty, spend more time in prayer together) 3) Health (drink more water, morning workouts, focus on taste as opposed to consumption) 4) Environment (get better about recycling, bike/walk more often, take shorter showers) 5) Community (make bible study a priority, reach out to more women, get involved at my church) 6) Spirituality (pray every day, spend more time in the bible, practice forgiveness/grace daily) and finally 7) Family (call my parents more often, spend more time with extended family)

    Again, my list is a bit daunting and kind of all encompassing of my goals for, not only this year, but life. I think I have improved in a lot of these areas and hope to have more growth in February 🙂 Good luck with your goals! You can do it!

Leave a Reply

