I’m So Hungry and How to Keep the Treadmill Interesting

6 Feb

….well, I feel ok right now, but yesterday I couldn’t eat anything at all. I had ice cream after my surgery, and then I made a mashed potato for lunch, and topped it with some 7 layer dip I had leftover from the Superbowl  It was really good, but I could only manage a few bites. 😦

Furthermore, Zach and I had scheduled our wedding cake consultation for 5:00 PM yesterday, so sitting in front of a plate of delicious cupcakes in various flavors when you’re starving and can’t eat is a blessing and a curse, I’ll tell you.

I ended up choking down a few cheese ravioli when we got home.

This morning, I was bound and determined to get a filling breakfast, but all I could imagine being able to manage was oatmeal. It took me roughly an hour to eat it, but I got it all down. I didn’t eat at my desk, like I usually do, so I picked this up from Starbucks for a morning snack:

juice

I love these juices so much, but I can’t usually justify the cost. Since I’m recovering from surgery, I thought I would treat myself.

You may be wondering why I’m at work at all. A lot of people are surprised I made it, but I’m actually not in very much pain at all, and I’m barely swollen. I figured it’s not too strenuous to sit at a desk, and to be honest, I’m probably feeling well enough to get in a run this evening. I’ll see how much food I’m able to take in — I wouldn’t want to exercise if I’m not getting enough fuel!

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Speaking of running, I wanted to talk a bit about the treadmill today. I’m constantly looking for ways to spice things up when I’m on the treadmill which will trick me into staying on there longer.

About a week ago, I got the idea to make up these cards and take them with me to the gym:

cards

Which, in theory was a great idea! But, in practice, I ended up picking “Sprint” and “Run Fast” alternately about 5 times in a row, and I threw them with frustration onto the ground, and ended up just starting at 5.0 and increasing my speed a little every quarter of a mile. That worked out fine, but I was still on the lookout for something to spice up my treadmill workout. The problem I have with most treadmill “workouts” is that they are like work. If my recent obsession with Crossfit is any indication, when I’m working out at a gym, I prefer it to be more like playing on the playground than working out. (Speaking of Crossfit, I haven’t been since Friday. I signed up for Saturday’s class this morning, I can’t wait to get back into it!)

So, as usual, Janae at The Hungry Runner Girl saved me. A couple days ago, she posted a few ideas for treadmill workouts, and this one looked too fun to pass up:

Screen-Shot-2013-02-04-at-8.36.12-AM

It was so much fun, and much better than my measly attempt at a “pick a card” treadmill game. I skipped over the 10’s, because there just isn’t much room at my gym to jump off the treadmill and do anything, haha. I also skipped over a card because I had gotten three “increase incline” cards in a row and once I picked up the next one, I was like, “Oh no.” — but that’s the great thing about this workout. You have 52 cards in a deck, so if you skip one or two, it’s not like you’ll run out of interesting things to do. The very best part of this, is that you pick a card every 5 minutes, do what is on the card and then whatever time is left over, you just go back to a slow jog, so you’re getting lots of recovery even though each card is pretty tough.

Monday's Deck of Cards Treadmill Run

Monday’s Deck of Cards Treadmill Run

I only had 30 minutes to spend on the treadmill on Monday, because Zach and I had plans, but I managed to get a pretty good workout in. I definitely would have kept picking cards if I had the time!

Question of the Day:
What do you do to keep yourself from getting bored at the gym? 

5 Responses to “I’m So Hungry and How to Keep the Treadmill Interesting”

  1. di @ life of di. February 6, 2013 at 9:24 am #

    I hope you start feeling better soon! That had to have been torture sitting in front of delicious cakes and unable to eat 😦 AH! Also, the card idea is great! I haven’t switched over to the treadmill yet (it is really hard for me – isn’t that odd?) and am still running on the track. I’m not sure why but I can barely run a mile whenever I hop on the treadmill. My endurance can’t seem to handle it! Ha. Not sure why but anyways, those cards would add variety to a repetitive workout routine! Once I make the switch to the treadmill, I’ll be sure to try this out 🙂

    • kristyshealthrevolution February 6, 2013 at 9:27 am #

      I REALLY struggle with the treadmill too. It’s definitely all mental, which is why I’m always looking for ways to make it interesting, to take my mind off that “I can’t do this!” feeling. I run a faster pace outdoors, and I never take walking breaks, but I always have to on the treadmill. Some people are completely opposite, so it’s DEFINITELY all mental.

  2. Emily February 6, 2013 at 10:29 am #

    I survived the flu a week or so ago solely on the green machine naked juices! I agree, normally I can’t justify the cost, but sickness is one of them!

    Hope you’re good as new soon! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Dreary Day « Kristy's Health Revolution - February 8, 2013

    […] you can probably tell from the photo, I did the Deck of Cards Treadmill Workout again, and it was just as fun as last time. I really like how it’s a completely different […]

  2. Lifting Heavy and Two Recipes | Kristy's Health Revolution - February 26, 2013

    […] Last night, Zach had to work late so I was on my own for dinner. After a pretty decent round of the Pick a Card treadmill workout: […]

Leave a Reply

