Dreary Day

8 Feb

Happy Friday!

Honestly, I didn’t post a blog yesterday because I was feeling a little….blah. I’m still feeling pretty blah, but I have a 5-day-a-week blog goal to stick with! I will try not to impart my bad mood on you.

In fact, I would share why I was in such a bad mood, but I myself can’t put my finger on it. The past few nights I’ve had a lot of trouble falling asleep because I’m in an anxious panic over…pretty much everything. Do you ever just get that feeling that you aren’t getting enough done? Anywho, sleeping poorly leads to not wanting to get out of bed in the morning, and dreary, grey days lead to bad attitudes, and well, here we are!

I’m happy to say that my oral surgery went well. I think I’m healing pretty well, but I had some trouble eating for the first couple of days. I’m eating more solid foods now and I couldn’t be happier about that — I do not do well with being hungry! I even managed to go for a run last night after work:

treadmill

 

As you can probably tell from the photo, I did the Deck of Cards Treadmill Workout again, and it was just as fun as last time. I really like how it’s a completely different workout each time. The weather here was perfect, but once I got done with work and changed into my workout gear, it was still too dark for an outdoor run. Luckily, I think we might just get some of that decent weather back this weekend:
weekend weather

To pump up my bummer of a mood a bit, I’ll look forward to the fact that Zach and I are going to celebrate Valentine’s Day this evening (I’ll be at a concert with some friends next weekend), with a date night I’ve been wanting to do for quite some time: Dinner at home and dessert out! I’m planning on cooking a simple meal of steak, baked potatoes and salad and then we’ll head out to Huntington Prime to have dessert. I’ve heard a lot of great things about the pastry chef at Huntington Prime, so we’re going to save some money by cooking our dinner at home first and then go out for a delicious dessert and drinks.

The other thing I’m really looking forward to is returning to Crossfit on Saturday. I reserved a spot in the 10:00 AM class tomorrow morning, and I’m looking forward to getting back into it.

Question of the Day:
What are you most looking forward to this weekend? 

4 Responses to “Dreary Day”

  1. Emily February 8, 2013 at 2:34 pm #

    That sounds like a fantastic date night! I’ll have to try that sometime. Enjoy!

  2. superfitandpregnant February 8, 2013 at 6:06 pm #

    Have fun starting back at Crossfit – look forward to hearing how it goes! Also, have you tried turning off all electronic appliances an hour before you go to bed? Sometimes that helps me unwind when I’m feeling a bit anxious, and lets me get to sleep more easily.

  3. di @ life of di. February 11, 2013 at 2:33 pm #

    Hope you had a great weekend and were able to turn your dreary day around 🙂

  4. Molly February 11, 2013 at 9:21 pm #

    Glad to hear your oral surgery went so well! I can totally relate to sometimes just being in a bad mood…there may not be a trigger, but you just feel “blah.” You just gotta ride it out and usually you’ll feel better the next day.

    I’ve NEVER tried the Deck of Cards Treadmill Workout – I’m intrigued! I wonder how many weird looks I’ll get at the gym if I start throwing cards around 😛

Leave a Reply

