Friday Ramblings

15 Feb

HAPPY Friday!

Man, am I glad to see this weekend. This week has been a bit blah, so I’m just so happy to have a couple days to relax coming up!

How was your Valentine’s Day? Mine was spent much like this:

lazy

…except add in a couple more cats. Zach and I watched Perks of Being a Wallflower last night. Have you seen it? I read the book a long, long time ago — I believe I picked it up in a secondhand bookstore in Pittsburgh after high school, and it’s been one of my favorite books of all time to this day. One thing I love about it is that it is very Pittsburgh-related. I was born and raised just outside of Pittsburgh, so I love reading books about my hometown. It’s just a great book, in general, and I urge you to pick it up if you haven’t read it.

perksofbeingawallflowermovie

 

I wasn’t sure what to expect from the movie, but it was really great! I knew that Stephen Chbosky wrote the film (he’s also the author of the book), so I expected it to be pretty good, but I have to say that it was even better than I expected. Like I said above, one of my favorite things about the book was all the Pittsburgh imagery, which they really brought to life in the movie. One thing they talk about in the book is travelling through the Fort Pitt tunnels into the city. If you’ve ever done this (especially at night), it’s the most amazing sight. Now, I haven’t been to a lot of cities, but I think this is one of the most grand entrances into a city ever. If you haven’t seen it, this video might help you get an idea of what I’m talking about:

Click the picture to go to the video, and fast forward to about 0:58.

Click the picture to go to the video, and fast forward to about 0:58.

In the movie, they definitely give you a great feeling of what it’s like to do this when you’re young! I had the advantage when reading the book to really know what they were talking about, the feeling you get when you leave the tunnel, so if you read the book and you don’t, the movie will give you an idea! But really, you should do this one day because it is a must see. It’s better at night!

And now, for something completely different.

Sometimes, if I feel like sleeping in or I’m running late, I like to get breakfast to go from somewhere nearby at work. Usually, that means Starbucks. The staff is friendly, the food is good (and not terrible for you), and they have good coffee…right?

Well, I’ll tell you lately I’ve not been pleased with their regular brewed coffee. The last two times I’ve had it, it has been downright gross. I’m not sure what they are doing to it, but it definitely isn’t what it used to be. This leaves me with a dilemma, because the other option is the bagel shop, which, while they do have decent coffee (Green Mountain I think?), the staff who works there is just…annoying. There is one guy who is in there in the mornings who, while I think maybe he’s just trying to be friendly, he’s just a little too friendly, and it makes me uncomfortable… do you know what I mean? Plus, there aren’t as many healthy options there.

They never spell my name right.

They never spell my name right.

Anywho, today I found the solution to my problem! Instead of getting the regular drip coffee, I went with a grande Cafe Americano, which was only $0.10 more than the regular drip coffee, and tasted much better! Success!

In other news, my workout plans today are another round of Crossfit this evening, which should be interesting since I’m having trouble walking from yesterday’s beast of a WOD! 

Question of the Day:
What’s the very best thing about your hometown? 

 

 

4 Responses to “Friday Ramblings”

  1. happyappalachy February 15, 2013 at 9:52 am #

    I always get the dark roast — I don’t care at all for the Pike Place. But the OTHER, better alternative is stopping by River & Rail at Heritage. I don’t know if you want something within walking distance, but it’s only another block away. And the coffee there is good, and you would be supporting a local business. I try to split my business between there and Starbucks because I do love the dark, dark wake-me-up of the Starbucks some mornings.

    • kristyshealthrevolution February 15, 2013 at 9:53 am #

      I do go to River and Rail! But it’s a lunch time thing for me, because it’s a bit out of the way when I’m usually running late already. Their coffee is excellent!

      • happyappalachy February 15, 2013 at 9:55 am #

        Ooh, I love their lunch there. I’ve only been a couple of times, but it’s excellent.

  2. Molly February 16, 2013 at 11:42 am #

    Perks of Being a Wallflower was one of my favorite books in high school! I haven’t read it in awhile, but when I saw a movie was being made, I was intrigued. Sometimes the movies don’t do the book justice, so I’ve held off seeing it. But since you said it’s really good, I think I’ll check it out 🙂

Leave a Reply

