Monday, We Meet Again

18 Feb

I’m having trouble feeling upbeat this morning.

Mondays are rough for me, and this one is particularly rough. I had a wonderful, fun weekend — but at the expense of being productive. That means that I woke up at 2:00 this morning in a panic about all the things I didn’t do this weekend and couldn’t get back to sleep. Which leads to not making it to the gym in the morning…and well, you get it. It’s a vicious cycle that ends up making me feel…blah.

I don’t really know how to stop beating myself up about this stuff, and to be honest, I think the only solution is to get the nagging tasks done with. However, by the end of the work day, all I want to do is hit the gym, cook dinner and then relax because by then it’s almost bed time!

Maybe it’s just the winter blues, but I think both Zach and I have just been going through the motions lately. Yesterday, instead of cleaning my house (which, trust me, is desperately needed), I laid on the sofa all morning and read my book:

13508607

 

Which, let’s face it, isn’t a bad way to pass a Sunday morning — this book has me hooked in the best way. However, I know my time would have been better spent going for a run, cleaning my house, or cleaning out my poor turtle’s tank (he needs his tank cleaned in the worst way). But, I didn’t do any of that, I just kept on reading.

Then, I decided that Zach and I need to go out to lunch/dinner with friends, because I was sick of sitting around and was letting my Monday ruin my Sunday (as I’ve been told numerous times not to do). That turned into going out for pizza (which I definitely did not need, especially since I didn’t do any exercise on Saturday or Sunday) and beers (also not needed, but quite fun), and then straight to bed after Walking Dead.

So, this morning I sit at my desk at work feeling incredibly irresponsible and stressed out.

Why am I telling you all of this? I’ll be completely honest — I need someone to tell me to stop being so hard on myself! I know it, but I need to hear it from all you regular readers who I feel like have it all together!

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Ok, enough feeling sorry for myself.

I want to quickly share with you my very favorite spice for cooking anything ever:

2013-02-01 19.30.35

 

It is called 7/2/1 Spice, and I read about it on a cooking blog. I really wish I could refer you to the blog on which I read about this spice, but I can’t for the life of me remember which one it was! If someone knows where this spice originates from, please let me know in the comments below.

I use this spice for absolutely everything. As shown above, I toss veggies with olive oil and 7/2/1 for roasting. I season meats with it prior to cooking. I sprinkle it on my eggs, in soup– it’s pretty much ubiquitous in my kitchen at this point. The very best part about it is the pure simplicity of it.

7/2/1 Spice
7 Tablespoons salt
2 Tablespoons garlic powder
1 Tablespoon black pepper

Combine in a clean spice container. Close the lid and shake to combine.

…and because of the name, you will never forget what the ratio is! I’m telling you, this is the perfect spice combo. I know a lot of people try to cut down on sodium, but I do season everything with salt and pepper. I guess if you’re a salt-ophobe this may not be the best spice for you. I try to use it as sparingly as possible.

Question of the Day:
What do you do when you’re feeling like you aren’t getting the things done that you need to do? 

 

4 Responses to “Monday, We Meet Again”

  1. Jen@HealthyFoodandFamily February 18, 2013 at 3:15 pm #

    That book sounds fabulous, just added it to my want to read list on goodreads and I’m also going to mix up some 7/2/1 spice mix!

  2. Michelle @ Run Eat Travel February 18, 2013 at 6:25 pm #

    I have never heard of that author and immediately went to the my local library website and requested the book.
    Sometimes I get in a rut. Going to school full time and working full time is insanely busy so i don’t have a lot of time to just not do what I need to get done. I tend to make lists. Lots of lists! It works because I like crossing things off that I’ve done so I get a sense of accomplishment.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Lifting Heavy and Two Recipes | Kristy's Health Revolution - February 26, 2013

    […] heat up to medium and spray with cooking oil. Salt and pepper both sides of your chicken breast (or use 7-2-1 spice) and cook on each side for about 3-4 minutes, or until cooked through. Slice. Sprinkle your noodles […]

  2. Matzoh Brei | Kristy's Health Revolution - February 28, 2013

    […] Usually, this is the point where I would carmelize some onions in the pan, but I am out of onions, so I decided to go with a plain old matzoh brei this morning. Next, I beat the eggs in a measuring cup. I used two whole eggs, seasoned with 7-2-1 Spice. […]

Leave a Reply

