I’m Frustrated

21 Feb

I got a call early yesterday morning that there was an opening in the 6:30 PM Crossfit class, and I jumped at the chance to attend. You see, my gym has Crossfit classes, but isn’t an actual Crossfit Box. For that reason, the space for each class is limited to 10 people, so you have to call early in the morning three days before the class you want to sign up. It’s so popular that many times I haven’t actually been able to get a spot in my desired class. I’ve heard some grumbling about this, but to be honest I think it’s something we’re just going to have to deal with. I’m just happy to be able to do these types of workouts and it’s included in the cost of my gym membership (which is about a third of what our local Crossfit box charges monthly!).

So, I got to Crossfit and looked at the WOD, and I immediately knew I was going to struggle:

WOD

 

Double unders (DU’s) are my nemesis. The thing is, I can’t do them. I’ve tried, again and again. I hate to say I can’t do something, but in this case, it’s a given. Maybe someday in the future, I will be able to, but at this point in my life, I have never once been able to get the jump rope under my feet twice. Jodi, our trainer last night, told us that if we couldn’t do them, we had to triple all the reps for the whole WOD, which was also not happening in the 35 minutes we had left to finish up. I was immediately frustrated.

I think maybe the problem I have is that the jump rope is too long for me. I’ve been instructed how to do DU’s a million times. I know it’s all in the wrist, but no matter how high I jump or how fast I flick my wrists, the rope smacks me in the ankles, missing going under my feet by a split second. I finished the WOD, but only by counting “double unders” that were actually the rope smacking me in the ankles. Sigh. I didn’t even ask for my time, I just put on my coat and left. Hopefully tomorrow evening’s class goes a little better.

The other frustration I have is that I’m not getting my mileage in this month. It’s February 21st, and I’ve only ran 29 miles this month. I could probably get in 50 miles if I would push myself, but after this morning’s run:

run

…I was feeling that good old IT band pain again — why is it coming back? I guess that leads to my final frustration: I haven’t done any yoga…well, probably all month!

So, in order to alleviate my frustrations, I will:

  • Stop worrying about getting those miles in. I will run when it’s convenient, or I want to, but I won’t stress that I’m not logging miles. Like I’ve said a million times before, longer days and warmer temperatures are coming up, which will lead to a natural increase in mileage. 
  • Practice Double Unders at home. This means getting a jump rope that is an appropriate length for me. I’ve also heard getting the weighted handles helps. Any tips or tricks for practicing double unders? I don’t want to automatically give up mentally every time I see them on that white board, which is where we are headed at this point.
  • Finally, I will commit to practicing yoga at least once a week. I’ve not been great at doing yoga at home lately, I’ll put the DVD in and stop it after a few minutes because I’m distracted by other things I should be doing. No more. I’ll get to a class or I’ll commit to that DVD.

Question of the Day:
Any recent frustrations you’d like to vent about? 

 

 

2 Responses to “I’m Frustrated”

  1. andrea mccardle February 21, 2013 at 9:35 am #

    Double unders are something I’m trying to master too! Its 70% your rope – you need one that’s the right length and one that pivots at the handles so that you can turn the rope with a flick of the wrist. Its all in the wrists, and if its not, you have the wrong rope. Also, watching some instructional videos on proper form for these helped me. Its more in how you turn the rope and jump a little higher than usual, but not crazy high. Good luck! Keep trying!!

    • kristyshealthrevolution February 21, 2013 at 9:37 am #

      I think I’m definitely going to get my own rope and start bringing it with me. If it will help, then I want it! I do not want to let this one skill bring me down every time I see it!! There are a ton of things at Crossfit I can’t do properly — yet, but none of them bring me down like double unders. Thanks so much for your comment! Good luck to you too!

Leave a Reply

