Matzoh Brei

28 Feb

Good morning! It’s almost time for my favorite holiday: Passover! Ok, I’m not Jewish, but I lived with a Jewish family for two years, so I’ve participated in a lot of the Jewish holidays, and I have to say that Passover is by far my favorite one. This blog is not about religion, and I would never make it about religion — I’m a firm believer in not ostracizing people based on religion, so I would never preach to you here. That said, I just love the history behind Passover, and it’s just such a fun holiday. I’m not going to go into the history of it much (you can read about it here if you’re interested), but basically it is a celebration of the freedom from slavery of the Israelites. The Passover Seder (the dinner that marks the beginning of Passover) is the most fun dinner I’ve ever attended. It’s a multi-course dinner, but it’s also kind of like a play in which all the dinner attendees are involved. It’s truly an amazing experience. If you have any Jewish friends, you might want to start buttering them up now to get an invite to their Seder!

During Passover, most Jewish people refrain from eating leavened grain, or any food that contains any trace of wheat, barley, rye, oats or spelt because when the Israelites took their journey from Egypt to Mount Sinai, they left in a hurry and didn’t have time for their bread to rise.

I’m telling you all of this because yesterday I was at the grocery store and saw the Passover section all stocked with my favorite Passover-related food item:

matzoh

Yum! Matzoh! Matzoh is basically just a big cracker, but somehow more delicious than a cracker. There are a ton of different varieties, but I’m a fan of the plain old egg matzoh. Also, Matzoh is totally healthy! These are low in fat, calories, and high in protein (4 grams per cracker for the egg variety). My favorite way to eat matzoh is in eggs, which is a traditional Jewish recipe called matzoh brei.  Here’s how you make it:

Typically, matzoh brei is cooked in chicken fat, but you can use any fat you would like. I used Smart Balance butter with olive oil:

Picture1

Usually, this is the point where I would carmelize some onions in the pan, but I am out of onions, so I decided to go with a plain old matzoh brei this morning. Next, I beat the eggs in a measuring cup. I used two whole eggs, seasoned with 7-2-1 Spice.

Picture2

Finally, you want to soak your matzoh (I used 1/2 a sheet of matzoh) in the eggs to soften them up. This is where you have a choice. I like my matzoh to be a bit on the crunchy side still, so I cooked my eggs a tiny bit and then removed them from the heat to stir in the broken up matzoh (just break it up with your hands):

Picture3

Oops, sorry for the blurry iPhone pic!

If you think you would like your matzoh to be a bit softer, just break it up into the eggs and let it sit for a few minutes before cooking it. Next, add your toppings. Today I went with cheese, and leftover tomato/avocado from last night’s taco dinner (oops, forgot a photo of that!)

Matzoh brei is pretty delicious, for basically just being eggs with crackers mixed in. I know it sounds weird, but it’s actually a really hearty and interesting alternative to just having a plain old egg scramble.

Finally, you can enjoy the other half of your matzoh sheet with jam:

Picture4

…which is delicious! You can also make sweet matzoh brei, which is pretty similar to oatmeal with eggs mixed in. Just add less eggs/more matzoh and stir in milk while cooking (and delicious sweet things like brown sugar, or maple syrup).

Question of the Day:
What’s your favorite exotic recipe? 

3 Responses to “Matzoh Brei”

  1. Molly February 28, 2013 at 4:05 pm #

    I didn’t know that during Passover Jewish people didn’t eat grains etc. See?! I love learning this stuff, I think different religious traditions are so interesting 🙂 There is this special Greek Easter bread that I haven’t got my hands on in years (I think I need to go to a Greek bakery), and they toast a coin into the dough and whoever gets the slice with the coin in it has good luck for a year. Luckily, none of us have ever bit down on the coin haha

  2. Jen@HealthyFoodandFamily February 28, 2013 at 4:29 pm #

    Love it! I never knew anything about the Jewish religion until my boss told me everything I ever wanted to know…and more! i loved when he would bring in tons of leftovers 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. #600in2013 Update | Kristy's Health Revolution - March 1, 2013

    […] a Crossfit class tonight, so two workouts equals two breakfast (science, people). I made some more matzoh brei and then had  bowl of cinnamon Life cereal with almond milk while I sat at my […]

Leave a Reply

