#600in2013 Update

1 Mar

Welp, it’s March 1st. I swear, 2013 is going by faster than most years because it knows I have a wedding to plan.

This morning, I ran the slowest 3 miles ever. I just could not get into it, I kept stopping or taking walking breaks:

treadmill

..it was rough. I can’t wait to run outside again, but the first weekend of March looks like it’s going to go right along with that whole “In like a lion…” thing (hopefully March will stay true to the end of that saying as well):

weather…yuck. Can I please just have some sun!? I don’t mind running in mid-to-high 30’s weather as long as there is some sun!

I’m also signed up for a Crossfit class tonight, so two workouts equals two breakfast (science, people). I made some more matzoh brei and then had  bowl of cinnamon Life cereal with almond milk while I sat at my desk:

cinnamon life

 

Cinnamon Life tastes like my childhood. It was always our favorite cereal growing up.

So. It’s time to update my #600in2013 graphic! Woo!

600 miles in 2013 February

..for grand total of 92.92 miles. I’m about 7 miles short of my goal, but I’m not worried about it. When I’m able/willing to run outside again, I’ll be doing more long runs on the weekends, so I’ll make that up in no time. For now, 93 miles in 2 months is pretty good! When I was looking at my Daily Mile profile to add up my miles, I noticed that I was logging about 5 runs a week in January (when I went over my goal of 50 miles), but only logging about 3 runs a week in February, when I fell a little short of my goal. To me, it is clear that I should be shooting for about 4 runs/week to meet my 50 mile/month goal. It can be tough when I’m doing Crossfit 2x/week to do that, but I’ll give it a try this month and see how it works out.

And finally, for something completely random that I just had to share!

I was pretty excited when dry shampoos started showing up on store shelves, because it’s pretty common knowledge that it’s not terribly healthy for your hair to wash it every day. I’ve always longed to be one of those girls whose hair looks better on the second day, but I’m just not. If I don’t wash my hair exactly every 24 hours, it’s an oil slick and it looks terrible. So, when dry shampoos started coming onto the scene, I was super excited. However, I’ve had the worst time finding one that actually works on my hair. The Tresemme brand makes my second day hair look worse if that is even possible.

Anywho, I recently purchased this:

dry shampoo

It actually makes my hair look better on the second day than it did the first! It makes it look clean and even a little textured, which I need considering my hair is so fine.

Question of the Day:
How often do you wash your hair? 

 

8 Responses to “#600in2013 Update”

  1. Molly March 1, 2013 at 9:32 am #

    I try to go every other day washing my hair, unless I’ve had a really sweaty workout that day. I’ve never tried dry shampoo, but it sounds like that specific kind is great! My hair gets so flat/dull by the second day 😦

    Your 600 in 2013 is such a neat idea!! You’re seriously doing awesome so far 🙂 And you’re right, this yucky weather really kind of throws you off, but once it’s nice outside, you’ll be logging a lot more miles (at least I know I will, I can’t wait!)

    • kristyshealthrevolution March 1, 2013 at 12:54 pm #

      That’s the main problem with us fitness addicts, because I don’t really like to sweat and then not wash my hair. But if I work out in the AM, wash my hair, and then don’t work out until the next PM, I don’t want to have to wash again just to get sweaty again — does that make sense? That’s where the dry shampoo comes in handy! Also, when I just want to sleep in!!

  2. Jen@HealthyFoodandFamily March 1, 2013 at 5:35 pm #

    I know it’s horrible, but if I work out in the morning, I have to wash my hair, it’s a disgusting grease trap if I don’t…so I end up washing my hair pretty much every day.
    Great job on the miles! Keep up your hard work 🙂

  3. di @ life of di. March 1, 2013 at 5:47 pm #

    I typically wash my hair 2x a week. I think the only reason i get away with it is because 1) I wear my hair in a topknot most of the week 2) my hair is thick. I know…gross- but it has definitely kept it healthy and it has helped it grow longer in a shorter amount of time! Sidenote: I love Cinnamon Life too 🙂

    • kristyshealthrevolution March 1, 2013 at 5:48 pm #

      I wish I could wash my hair only twice a week!! I don’t think it is gross and I would totally do it if I could!!

  4. Haley @ The Saucy Apple March 1, 2013 at 6:23 pm #

    I’ve tried that dry shampoo and loved it! Previously I could only find it at Sephora, but I’ll have to keep my eye out for it at drugstores. 🙂 I usually wash my hair once every other day or every few days… not because my hair looks better the next day… just because I’m super lazy when it comes to beauty! 😛

  5. mom March 1, 2013 at 7:43 pm #

    I wash my hair every other day, but the second day it doesn’t always look so hot. Where did you get that brand of dry shampoo?

    • kristyshealthrevolution March 1, 2013 at 7:51 pm #

      Birchbox, but you could probably order it from Amazon. I just had some Birchbox points to use.

Leave a Reply

