I <3 Pancakes.

5 Mar

Yesterday was not a good day! I mean, it wasn’t a terrible day, but it wasn’t good either. Work was a bit stressful and non-stop (the auditors are here this week, too, which puts everyone on edge), and I didn’t drag my butt out of bed in the morning for a run, so I didn’t even have the endorphins to carry me through the day!

Zach and I had plans to go out in the evening, so I prepped a crockpot dinner while we were home for lunch in the hopes of getting a run in before we headed out for the evening. The sun was shining, so I thought I’d be ok to get a run in outside. NOPE! After about half a mile, my nose was running and my fingers were frozen. I turned around and ran right to the gym to get on the treadmill. I ran a little over a mile on the treadmill before it was time to get home and scarf down dinner and head out. So, not the best run, but 2.25 miles is better than zero!

Also, I had a bit of trouble getting out of bed for Crossfit this morning. I was the very last person to show up to class, and I swear I wasn’t even awake until we started the WOD, which was rough:

4 rounds for time:
10 tire flips
20 kb swings (35 lbs)
30 reverse ring rows
40 med ball squat jumps (12 lbs)
50 sit ups

I finished in exactly 30 minutes, and my heart was racing. It took quite a while for my heart rate to come down and start breathing normally. As rough as this workout was, it wasn’t as bad as it looked when I was looking at it before the start.

As usual after Crossfit, I was starving, so I made some new pancakes for breakfast:

pancakes

So good! I had some cottage cheese in the fridge, so I decided to experiment with cottage cheese/oatmeal pancakes. These have 2 egg whites, 1/4 c. cottage cheese, 1/4 c. oats, 1 whole banana, sliced, 1/2 t. baking powder, 1/2 t. vanilla  and a little whole wheat flour to thicken up the batter. They cooked really well, and I topped them with butter, sliced strawberry and a little maple syrup. Really, really yummy — and quite healthy!

I don’t know if you noticed, but I love pancakes. I am constantly making them — protein pancakes, buttermilk pancakes, crepes, etc. — I just don’t know of a better breakfast than a stack of pancakes. This is a new development for me, as I used to be a strictly savory breakfast food person. Now, every weekend I’m trying to talk Zach into pancakes for breakfast (he likes savory breakfast).

After breakfast I was still starving, so I broke into my morning snack:

graze

 

It seems that shipping my Graze box to work is the way to go, because I got this weeks box yesterday morning, right on time. I love their dried fruit packs, but this one was a little too heavy on the coconut flakes. I like them ok, but not that many of them.

Speaking of Graze, I just wanted to talk a little bit more about it. One thing I really love about this box is that every snack has some health benefit to it:

more graze

This is a bit hard to read, so click on the image to see the full sized version.

..and that chart kind of speaks for itself! Again, I don’t know if Graze is worth the price. $5/week seems pretty steep for 4 snacks that aren’t very large. I think if they added a snack to the box or maybe gave you two servings/snack, it would be worth it!

I mentioned in my first Graze Review that I would try to get an invite code for you. This one should work:

ticket

In order to redeem your free box, go to http://www.graze.com then enter the invite code above (LK612JZD).

In other news, I’m publicly pledging to attend the 7:00 PM yoga class at the gym tonight, so if I come back here tomorrow and I didn’t go, you all have permission to publicly chastize me! My muscles have been very tight lately, and I need yoga in my life!

Question of the Day:

Are you a sweet breakfast or a savory breakfast person? 

4 Responses to “I <3 Pancakes.”

  1. Molly March 5, 2013 at 10:50 am #

    I’m definitely a savory breakfast person 🙂 I tend to crave sweets later on in the day. Give me eggs and turkey sausage or pancakes ANY morning. And make sure you get to yoga! I don’t wanna have to chastise you tomorrow 😛

  2. loseitbig March 5, 2013 at 11:10 am #

    I have been on a bit of a pancake kick lately. Last night I had the same type of pancakes (oatmeal and cottage cheese) but, I used them as a bun for pulled chicken sandwich. It was awesome.

    • kristyshealthrevolution March 5, 2013 at 11:12 am #

      I think that you might be my hero. I’m definitely trying that ASAP! What a great idea!

  3. xtinaluvspink March 5, 2013 at 12:56 pm #

    I LOVE making oat pancakes! They really do have the power to improve a bad day 🙂 Hope today is a better one for you!

Leave a Reply

