Interesting Finds and Events

15 Mar

I left work a little early yesterday due to my incessant cough. I seem to have caught up with all the work that was piling up (or at least the most pressing issues), so I called it a day about an hour and a half early. I laid on the couch with Vick’s Vapo-rub on my chest (which always reminds me of my mom, because she would do this for me when I was sick as a child) and coughed, sniffled and whined.

Then I realized laying down wasn’t my friend. I was hacking much less if I was upright. So Zach and I decided to go out to dinner.

We got to the best Mexican restaurant in town and it. was. PACKED! Turns out, there was a Mariachi band playing:

mariachi

 

…ok! Then, because I thought I should try to keep things healthy because I am still under the weather, I got a margarita made with OJ. Hey, it’s Vitamin C, right?

Picture1

…it was tasty! Again, keeping it healthy, I went with the veggie fajitas:

veggie fajitas

 

I love the veggie fajitas at El Ranchito. They are super fresh, because they saute the onions and peppers in a bit of oil on the bottom of the pan and then layer the carrots, mushrooms, zucchini and broccoli on top so it sort of steams. It makes for a super fresh meal. Vegans could totally eat this meal, all they would have to do is ask for them to leave off the sour cream and perhaps the beans (unless they are prepared vegetarian) that come on the side. The other thing I love about this place is the guacamole that comes on the side is super fresh and has big chunks of avocado. So yum.

After all that oj (ahem, humor me) and the veggies, I felt much better 🙂

If you’re a Huntington local and you haven’t been to El Ranchito, you must check it out. There is no shortage of Mexican restaurants in Huntington, but most of them are subpar. This one is not. Everything I’ve had there is so fresh and delicious! I usually get the shrimp a la diabla and it’s incredibly good, and very spicy.

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

In Homeopathic news:

Yesterday, a coworker was telling me that her son (who is a medical doctor) told her about this homeopathic tea that she could make that would help her with congestion. Here’s what is in it:

1 cup almond milk (regular milk is not good for congestion, as are any dairy products)
1 tsp. cinnamon
1/2 tsp turmeric
1/2 tsp ginger
honey

It sounded delicious to me and because I’ve read so much about the health benefits of cinnamon and turmeric I figured it couldn’t hurt to try it. In fact, when I glanced at the articles I linked in that last article, the one thing that jumped out at me is that turmeric is the most potent anti-inflammatory in nature!

Anyway, in lieu of my morning coffee, I whipped some of this up this morning. I didn’t have much honey, so I added what I had and put a few drops of agave nectar in as well to sweeten it up a bit more:

tea

It definitely looked weird, but it tasted pretty good, and I’m happy to report that my cough has been much more productive this morning (gross, I know!) I really can’t see any negative to this tea. After reading those articles about the health benefits of these spices (in fact, as I was typing this, I Googled the health benefits of ginger (clears the sinuses!? — how about that?) and honey as well), I don’t see why I wouldn’t be drinking this concoction more often. I might try to make it a weekly thing.

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

In entertainment news, I have two quick shares for you:

Rob Thomas (not of Matchbox 20!) and Kristen Bell started a Kickstarter campaign to get a Veronica Mars movie made. They reached their $2 million goal in less than a day! They are at $3.3 million and counting as I type this. If you haven’t seen Veronica Mars the television show, stop reading now and remedy that. I discovered this show back in college, when my local WB/CW affiliate was one channel. They would show the CW prime time shows late night (when I was coming home from…um, studying) and I watched one of the first episodes. I was instantly hooked and have been a devotee since. The show just kind of…ended after the third season and there have been talks of a movie ever since. According to creator Rob Thomas, this is the only shot the show had to be made into a movie.

I LOVE horror movies, and I’m a huge fan of the Amityville craze, so when I saw this article about a documentary being released about the true events surrounding the Amityville craze, I was instantly interested. After watching the trailer, I can’t wait to check it out!

Question(s) of the Day:
What’s your favorite homeopathic remedy for any ailment?

Have you ever seen Veronica Mars?

Do you like horror movies? 

One Response to “Interesting Finds and Events”

  1. Christina March 21, 2013 at 10:47 pm #

    I pretty much love your blog! It’s very motivating for me and I learn a lot. I’ve never been to El Ranchito, never watched Veronica Mars but I loooove Mexican food and Horror movies!!

Leave a Reply

