We’re Expanding Our Family

25 Mar

I’m not doing well with my goal of blogging 5 times a week. Working 9-5, planning a wedding, keeping up with a consistent schedule of working out — it’s hard to fit everything in, you know?

I’ve been very, very busy at work these past few weeks, and I’m currently hurriedly typing this up so I can get back to work today. I took Friday off because on Thursday night I was at a work event until almost 9 pm, and when I got home, I was informed that my future SIL, Courtney, had found a puppy abandoned in the stairwell at the building where she works:

frank 1

 

Uhh, look at that face!! Since Courtney already has 3 wild and crazy dogs running around her house, she wasn’t in the position to keep a puppy, so guess who he lives with now?

Photo courtesy of Courtney's Instagram!

Photo courtesy of Courtney’s Instagram!

Yep, Zach and I are now the proud owners of an 8-10 week old…well, we have no idea what he is but we do know that he is cute! After getting home from work at 9:00 PM, realizing that I now had a puppy (did you know puppies cry all night?) and getting zero sleep, I decided that a day off was in order on Friday. We’ve named our new addition Franklin Roosevelt Browning (Frank for short) and he is pretty awesome:

frank 2 frank 3 Frank 4 frank 5Puppy spam!

So right now I’m in the middle of crate training/house training a baby puppy and it’s pretty stressful. It’s going fairly well, but when we leave him alone he tends to whine and bark. There are four apartments in our building, and our downstairs neighbor commented on it yesterday when we left him alone for a bit to go see a movie and get lunch. Needless to say, I’m a little stressed out leaving him alone today for work. We’re going home for lunch to let him out (puppies can’t stay in their crate for 8 hours unattended), so hopefully he’s enjoying his frozen peanut butter stuffed Kong I left for him rather than barking. He’s in a dark room with a covered crate and music is playing, so all my bases are covered. I’m still stressed.

In fitness related news, I’ve been running my little heart out:

mileage

 

See those 1’s on there? Well, we did another mile for time at Saturday’s Crossfit class and remember when I told you about my 7:50 mile last week? Well, this time I did it in 7:36!! I love seeing improvement, don’t you?

My goal for this week’s fitness (after a puppy training rest day today) is to get a little strength training in when I’m not at Crossfit. On Saturday my coach chided me for not keeping up my strength training outside of class, so I need to get back to it.

Question of the Day:
Do you have a dog? If so, give me any puppy training tips! 

6 Responses to “We’re Expanding Our Family”

  1. di @ life of di. March 25, 2013 at 1:26 pm #

    I need puppy training tips and my dog is 3!! Haha. He keeps chewing on our couch pillows. It may be time to get a doggie trainer…. Congrats on all of your runs this week 🙂 I am planning on getting back into running after Easter 🙂

    • kristyshealthrevolution March 25, 2013 at 2:59 pm #

      My vet has a trainer on staff. Maybe your vet has the same thing? It’s not really that expensive! My sister-in-law is my puppy training inspiration. She’s totally dedicated to teaching her pups good behavior, and a few friends have loaded me down with books. From what I can tell so far, it’s all about teaching them that YOU are the boss! Good luck.

  2. happyappalachy March 25, 2013 at 2:01 pm #

    I love him! He is adorable! I took my dog to Chad at Animal Care Clinic for some basic training. (Sit, lay down, wait, etc.) She doesn’t do any of it when she is loose in the yard, though, so results may vary. I put bells on the back of the door for figuring out when she wants to go out. She doesn’t always ring them, but she got the hint and learned to go to the door and then come back and pointedly stare and me and then go back to the door.

    • kristyshealthrevolution March 25, 2013 at 2:10 pm #

      You really need to meet him! I’m so consumed with housetraining him/teaching him to LOOOOOVE his crate, I have NO time to deal with sit/stay/lay down so I might be going to see Chad as well. 🙂

      • happyappalachy March 25, 2013 at 9:22 pm #

        I would love to meet him! I hope we can meet up and go to the park this spring! I bet he outgrows my dog (or at least catches up with her) in the next few months.

  3. kim March 25, 2013 at 5:56 pm #

    If you put him in a box next to your bed for the first week, you can reach out and stroke him whenever he cries. It will cut down on the noise 🙂 SO cute! Congrats!

Leave a Reply

