13.2 and Puppy Training

26 Mar

I’ll admit, I’ve been intrigued by Crossfit for a while, but I wrote it off as too expensive. And, please, don’t give me the usual arguments about why it’s worth it — now that I’ve been doing some Crossfit workouts, I know why it’s worth it, but regardless of how worth it it may be, I cannot afford to shell out $150/month for anything.

At any rate, when the YMCA started offering Crossfit inspired classes, I couldn’t wait to join up.

IFT

I jumped in for the first week of classes and I was instantly hooked. Now, again, this isn’t traditional Crossfit in that we are somewhat limited to what we can do. We only have a limited amount of equipment (which is why the classes can only have 10 people/class), and one coach per class. But, we’re doing the same workouts as every other box is, and we’re learning the lifts together. My friend Sarah went a few times and decided to join the traditional Crossfit box in our area, and that’s great for her. If I could afford it, you know I’d be there too, but for now this is fine, and it’s included in my gym membership, which is a third of the cost of a monthly membership at the local Crossfit box.

So, recently, when the Crossfit Open began, I was interested in watching the WOD’s. When I watched Crossfit Games Open 13.2, I knew I had to suggest that we do it in class, because we had learned all the skills needed to do it:

10 minutes AMRAP (as many reps as possible)

5 shoulders to overhead (we did push press, since that is a skill we’ve been working on)
10 deadlifts 
15 box jumps

My coach, Noah, mentioned that we’d be doing it soon, but I wasn’t sure when. Well, this morning was my lucky day! After not getting a ton of sleep (little Frank woke me up every few hours to go outside — what a good puppy), I was not looking forward to class this morning! However, once Noah said we were doing 13.2, I got really excited. I couldn’t wait to see how I fared.

Now, if I worked out at a traditional box, I’d probably have my own box to use for box jumps and my own bar to use for the lifts, but we have to share, so that slowed me down a bit. Sometimes you have to take unplanned breaks to wait for a bar or a box to open up, but I was happy to just try it out. I did the prescribed weight (75 lbs) and tried to stick to the 20′ box for the jumps. I ended up doing 142 reps. As a comparison, Annie Thorisdottir (the current Fittest Woman on Earth as dubbed by the Reebok Crossfit Games) did 361. I’m happy with that performance. I’d like to do it again soon to see how much better I can get!

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Puppy training update!

cold puppy

Like mother like son, Frank is not a fan of this cold weather. However, he’s been pretty good about only going outside to use the potty. He doesn’t “tell us” when he wants to go, we are just watching for signs right now, but he does seem to be holding it when he’s in his kennel. When I take him outside to go, he immediately does this pitiful little whine and snuggles up to my neck. Too cute. Luckily for Frank (and me!) the weather is supposed to warm up later this week.

playtime

I love to watch him play. A little puppy bounding from one place to the next  may be one of the cutest things ever. Right now, we’re working on the following training issues:

  • Potty training, obviously
  • Crate training. He’s not a fan of the crate just yet, but we’re working on making it a place he looks forward to being in. I got him a Kong toy and each night I fill it with peanut butter and freeze it for him to work on during the day. He doesn’t get the Kong unless he is in the kennel, so it’s a special treat. However, I think the Kong may lose it’s appeal after our lunchtime potty/lunch break so this morning I picked him up a bone stuffed with chicken for an afternoon treat. Hopefully by alternating these two special treats, he won’t get so lonely in his crate during the day. Some other things we do to make it appealing is feed him his morning and evening meals in there, and give him treats in there. So far, Frank is motivated by food (again, just like his mother).
  • Bite inhibition. He’s a puppy, and he loves to chew, which sometimes includes our hands, feet, clothing and other things he shouldn’t be chewing on. So, in order to fix that behavior issue, we redirect his biting to a toy he’s allowed to chew. If he does it again, we again redirect him. After a third time, however, we pin him down on his side and hold him there until he doesn’t struggle. This doesn’t hurt him, but it’s something that is meant to mimic how dogs in packs ‘teach’ each other. We are teaching Frank that we are the pack leaders and he has to listen to us. He is really good about listening to the word “No!” so far, as well. If he hears us say it, he stops what he’s doing so I think that’s a good sign.

What we need to work on:

  • Leash training. Frank doesn’t “get” the leash. He will follow me all day long like a little shadow, but the second I put him in a harness or collar and a leash, he freezes and will. not. move. I’m picking my battles for now, and as of now he’s so little that we’re able to keep close watch on him when he’s outside anyway. 
  • Sit/Stay/Come. Right now, I’m so focused on everything else this overwhelms me. But I think we have some time.

My friend Jessica said to me, “I promise, there will be a time when you regret getting a dog.” I hate to say it, but that is totally true. I love Frank with my whole heart and he’s a sweetheart, but I’m pretty much feeling guilty 100% of the time right now. I don’t like having to leave him all day while we’re at work, I worry that he’s barking and disturbing the neighbors, I worry that he gets lonely/sad/bored. I also worry that I’m not giving my cats as much attention as I should, so sometimes I wonder if us taking Frank in was the best thing to do. But, he’s ours now so I’m just going to try to make him the best dog I can!

Question of the Day:
Tell me about your pets!

If you do Crossfit, have you tried any of the Open workouts? How did you do? 

 

 

Leave a Reply

