Life with Frank

29 Mar

I’m a girl who likes to have a plan, and a schedule.

Turns out, when you adopt a puppy, all of that goes out the window.

IMG_0460

Frank and I had a little photo session this morning. As you can see, he got the memo about how to look at the camera, while I’m just staring off into space!

This week has been rough, to say the least. We “adopted” (I guess acquired is a better word for it, haha) Frank on Thursday of last week, and Zach and I both took Friday off work. So, we had several days with the pup where we didn’t have to leave him unattended for long. However, by Sunday I was freaking out about leaving him in the crate all by himself while we were at work. Luckily, Zach and I both come home for lunch every day, so we’re able to take him outside, feed him and play with him before he has to go back to the crate, but he’s so little that any time away from us is detrimental. Seriously, even if I put him on the bathroom floor while I shower, he cries when I have the shower curtain closed because he can’t see me. On one hand, it’s awesome that he loves us so much. On the other, I wish he’d be a little more independent. I hope it will come with time, but I sure am glad it’s Friday! Zach is off today, so Frank is home with him, and after this we have two interrupted days with him before it’s back to the crate.

puppy

 

But he is such a good puppy! We’ve had a lot of puppy training advice and we’ve been trying to follow it all carefully. He barely has any accidents in the house, but I mostly attribute that to the fact that he has a very regular feeding schedule and we are good about taking him out every couple of hours. As much as he seems to hate his crate, he has never once used the bathroom in it, so he’s got the idea that he’s not supposed to pee where he sleeps. He definitely knows the word, “No!” and he will stop what he’s doing when he hears it. Also, the awesome thing about his need to have me in his sight at all times is I can get up to clean the kitchen or whatever I need to do, and he’ll play nearby where I can see him. We’ve only had a couple puppy-chewing incidents, but one was my very favorite sports bra, so that was kind of a bummer. My fault though! I left it on top of the towel draped over his crate (we dry his paws with it), and he pulled the towel down during the day and managed to pull the bra into the crate.

It’s been hard to get workouts in with Frank. Since I’m not sleeping through the night anymore (the worst), I don’t get up the in mornings for workouts, and in the evenings Zach has had some work meetings. Luckily, Courtney offered to puppy sit one evening so I was able to get a run in, and I did make it to Crossfit one morning. This weekend is supposed to nice and I have signed up for a few Crossfit classes as well.

All in all, having a puppy is pretty hard work. Now, I don’t want to offend any moms out there, I’m not claiming that having a puppy is like having a baby, but it definitely gives me an idea of what it might be like to have a baby — getting up multiple times in the night, coordinating schedules so somebody is home with the baby, operating on little to no sleep, constantly keeping  an eye on him — it’s hard work!

But, I love his adorable little face so much, and hopefully I’ll get a great running partner out of it at the end of this growing up phase!

frank

 

Question of the Day:
Have you ever taken care of a small puppy? Do you think it’s hard work, too, or am I being a wuss? 

 

 

Leave a Reply

