Turn That Frown Upside Down

1 Apr

I woke up on the wrong side of bed this morning. I slept great, however, I woke up and couldn’t get it together. I took the puppy outside, fed him and played with him and then before I knew it was time to go to work. I hadn’t made breakfast, my hair was only halfway dry and I was not in a good mood. I’m having some trouble coordinating my mornings with Mr. Franklin. I really need to make a morning schedule and stick with it. Because I was hurrying to work with a wet head and I had to buy breakfast which has been a regular occurrence lately.

I’m trying to shake my no good, terrible mood because I know my day won’t get better until I do.

Let’s talk running, shall we? It’s time for a #600in2013 update!

600 miles in 2013 March

 

I once again failed to hit that 50 mile marker for the month. Sigh! Considering the weather we’ve had this March, I’m not really surprised. I clocked a total of 2.39 outdoor miles all month! Looks like the weather is starting to finally warm up, so I’m sure I’ll be pounding the pavement in no time. This brings my 2013 total to 141.46 miles — 8.54 miles short of the 150 miles I should have for this quarter, but I’m really not worried about it. I have a few 5k and 10k races planned in the spring, summer and fall, so training alone will make up some miles. One thing that the #600in2013 challenge has taught me is to get out there get those miles in. If I ended up at the end of the year short of my 600 mile goal, I might be bummed, but the good thing is even if I lose, I win, because all this running definitely has its benefits. For example, I’ve noticed that I’m getting faster! All this treadmill time makes it easy to monitor my pace, and I’ve noticed my fitness level increasing quite a bit. I can hold faster paces for longer amounts of time and my walk breaks have become rare. I’m really seeing benefits from all this running! I like it!

One goal I have for April is to get some strength training workouts in beyond Crossfit. I’ve been counting on Crossfit for all my strength training, and that’s no good. I need to keep up with a full body strength session a couple times a week after my run, so I’ll focus on doing that this month.

Question of the Day:
What’s a good source for full-body strength workouts? 

One Response to “Turn That Frown Upside Down”

  1. Molly April 1, 2013 at 11:35 am #

    You were so close to your 50 mile/month goal, you should still be proud! If your weather was anything like ours, it wasn’t really conducive for quality outdoor running. Looks like it’s warming up, though, so I’m sure you’ll have no problem blowing this months goal outta the water 🙂 Yay for getting faster, too!! That’s a goal I’m working on over-all too and even if we don’t get in as many miles, you’re still seeing the improvement of your hard work and that’s great.

Leave a Reply

