Runners, Unite.

16 Apr

Along with the rest of the world, I watched in horror yesterday as two explosives were detonated near the finish line of the Boston Marathon.

Earlier that day, I had been anxiously checking Twitter and the live feeds to see how Shalane Flanagan and Kara Goucher had fared and by 3:00 pm, I was powering through some work at my desk when I checked Twitter. Someone said something about explosions near the finish line, but when I searched around a bit I didn’t see anything else. Thinking it was probably not a huge deal, I went back to work. I checked Twitter again, and that’s when it was clear this was no small thing. I’m sure I’m not the only one who looked at the photos and videos being posted with a morbid curiosity. I was heartbroken.

Because I don’t have the words to share how I feel about this, I direct you to this blog post by Ezra Klein, which I think puts everything I’m thinking and feeling into words. The people who do these things are doing it to make us react. They want this to be on all the front pages (it is) on all the news networks (again, it is) and they want us to cry. As sad as I am, I won’t feed into what they want like our news networks do (for shame!) — today I have hope that as sad as we are, the running community will put this aside and not live in fear. We will honor those who were hurt or died by running our little huge hearts out.

As Klein so eloquently puts it:

If you are losing faith in human nature today, watch what happens in the aftermath of an attack on the Boston Marathon. The flood of donations crashed the Red Cross’s Web site. The organization tweeted that its blood supplies are already full. People are lining up outside of Tufts Medical Center to try and help. Runners are already vowing to be at marathons in the coming weeks and months. This won’t be the last time the squeakers run Boston. This won’t be the last time we gather at the finish line to marvel how much more we can take than anyone ever thought possible.

The folks at #RunChat have told us all to wear a race t-shirt today in honor of the victims, but since I’m at work and can’t really wear a t-shirt, I’m wearing my blue and yellow:

photo

 

It isn’t much yellow, but I know what I’m doing (I even had to run into my bedroom and change at the last minute because I almost forgot), and it makes me a little happier to know that we are all doing what we can to help.

Also, if you run: Run. Run as much as you can this week. I’ve already covered 5 miles since yesterday afternoon and I plan to cover as many as possible this week to honor those who lost their lives, were injured, or are just sad and downtrodden.

Leave a Reply

