Staying Healthy when your Routine is Disrupted

5 Jun

Sure, it’s easy to stay healthy when you get into a routine, but what do you do when your routine is disrupted?

Today I’m at a work meeting about an hour away from home and I’m finding a brief moment to blog about how I keep a healthy routine.

We broke for lunch and I had an hour and a half. I noticed that there was nothing but fast food nearby, and a shopping center. I decided to take a nice long hike to the other end of the shopping center to hit up the grocery store.

20130605-131527.jpg

I was able to not only get in about a 20 minute walk, but also get a pretty healthy lunch of seaweed salad, a pre-peeled hard boiled egg (delicious together, by the way), a peach and (not pictured) a Lara bar. I had to get the frozen yogurt so I could use their table to eat 😉 – but I only used fruit toppings!!

I got all of that food for about $10, about the same as fast food and I was able to save back one egg and half the Lara bar for a snack later. I even had time to hit up a local discount store, where I scored a new workout outfit that will inspire me to hit the gym when I get home this evening!

Question of the Day:
How do you stay healthy when your routine is disrupted?

7 Responses to “Staying Healthy when your Routine is Disrupted”

  1. xtinaluvspink June 5, 2013 at 1:24 pm #

    My routine has been disrupted for a 2-week stint…I’m in a moving transition, and thus living at home for two weeks….which is a good 40 minute drive from where everything I do takes place (work, friends, my gym, fave restaurants, etc.) It’s not a big deal, but today especially, I have work, and then orchestra in the same city later on. Makes no sense for me to drive home to drive back, and instead of wasting my time on doing nothing, I packed up my gym stuff and am gonna have a “leg day” between work and orchestra! THAT is how to make the best of a new schedule. I also had to bring extra healthy snacks with to compensate for the calorie burn. Here’s hoping I’m not jello by 10pm!!

    • kristyshealthrevolution June 5, 2013 at 1:32 pm #

      That’s awesome!!! I’m impressed with your dedication!

      • xtinaluvspink June 5, 2013 at 2:12 pm #

        Thanks!! Same to you, btw. Takes effort to eat and be healthy!! But sooooo worth it.

  2. authorkathryn June 5, 2013 at 1:27 pm #

    I am actually finding myself in a disrupted routine having taken on a part-time job for the summer. For me, the best way to keep on track with my diet is to have plenty of the following foods on hand: fruit, salad, water, and protein bars. This way, I can quickly grab or whip something up to take with me on the go.

    • kristyshealthrevolution June 5, 2013 at 1:28 pm #

      Good idea! I usually try to stash a piece of fruit in my purse when I’m on the go so I won’t get overly hungry.

  3. realguideforhealth June 5, 2013 at 2:54 pm #

    I like your idea of hitting up a grocery store. Usually when out about about we tend to only think of actual restaurants or fast food. We often forget about the salad bars and all of their wonderful proteins and nuts!

    • kristyshealthrevolution June 5, 2013 at 2:56 pm #

      I wish we had a Whole Foods hot bar, but any grocery store will have at least fresh fruit and protein bars, which is worlds better than anything you can find at a restaurant.

Leave a Reply

