Out of my Comfort Zone

6 Jun

I’m a solitary runner. It’s not so much that I don’t want to run with others, it’s more of a confidence thing. I’m not sure if I’ll be able to keep up with their pace, or the logistics – headphones in or out? Will they be offended if I don’t talk? If I do?

The local running shop in Huntington, Robert’s Running and Walking Shop, hosts a group run every Thursday at 6. I always thought it sounded fun, but I never took the chance to go. When they posted on their Facebook page that they were having a Saucony demo at tonight’s run, I thought it was the perfect opportunity to finally try it.

I walked over after work and I was the first one there, so I flipped through a Runner’s World and perused the merchandise. I felt a little awkward at first, but eventually I got more comfortable. The Saucony rep came right up to me and asked if I wanted to try out a pair of the shoes he had brought along.

20130606-210203.jpg

Of course I did! He looked at the wear on my current shoes and watched me walk and before I knew it, I was wearing the Saucony Kinvara 4, and it was comfy!

20130606-210356.jpg

20130606-210418.jpg

He also gave me a cool little mug with some Clif Builder Bars!

20130606-210554.jpg
….and talked a little about Clif bars and the shoes.

20130606-210652.jpg

Then it was time to run!! I was a little intimidated at first because there were so many serious and speedy runners there, but I quickly found a few others who wanted to cover about 3 miles at 9:30/10 minutes a mile.

I had a great run. It felt easy at first and hard at the end, which is just how a run should feel. I really had a nice time with my group. I think this is definitely something I will do again.

As for the Kinvara 4, they were definitely a comfortable minimalist shoe. The uppers almost feel like socks, and the colors of the shoe were great. I’d definitely consider Saucony for my next running shoe.

Question of the Day
Do you ever go on group runs, or do you prefer to run alone?

One Response to “Out of my Comfort Zone”

  1. rhodag June 8, 2013 at 2:14 am #

    It depends on the run for me. I definitely like doing speed workout in a group. Pushes you more. Anything over 13 miles I like doing with a group. If I’m running a 30-50 minute easy runn, then I prefer solo.

Leave a Reply

