Snapshots from the Weekend

10 Jun

Sometimes I feel like the weekend is over before I can blink, but when I go back and look at the photos on my phone, I am surprised at how much I did. So, let’s recap, shall we?

I stayed home from work on Friday to be with little Frank. He was neutered on Tuesday, so Zach and I took turns staying home with him to keep an eye on his incision. He can’t play with other dogs or do a lot of jumping, so needless to say I had a very bored puppy on my hands:

Can we please go for a walk?

Can we please go for a walk?

I did take him for a few walks, but a mere walk is not enough for this pup. I can’t wait until he can play with his puppy cousins and get back to the dog park! When Zach got home from work, I hit the treadmill to do a quick run to keep up with the Runner’s World Run Streak, then went to Crossfit, where we did a fun and quick WOD followed by a partner ab workout:

friday wod

 

…and then on Saturday I got to attend my first 2 hour Boot Camp Class of the season! This is something that is put together by two of my favorite group fitness instructors at the gym, they do it a few times in the early and late summer, and it’s so fun! We start at 8:00 AM on Saturday, and we run from the gym to the park, where we go through a bunch of exercises, then we run to another location to do some exercises, and we repeat that cycle in a big two mile loop that ends up back at the gym for hour two, which is indoors. It’s a super intense and fun workout that I get excited for each time we do it. Unfortunately I didn’t get any photos of it, but trust me, it’s a blast!

Later on Saturday, Zach and I decided to take the pup for a nice long walk to get out some of his puppy energy:

Photo Jun 08, 8 20 30 PMHe had a blast, and so did I. There isn’t much I like more than taking long walks with my two favorite guys 🙂

Sunday was a pretty lazy day. Despite trying to stick to the Runner’s World run streak, I felt like my body desperately needed a rest day after two pretty intense workouts on Friday and Saturday, so I took one! No shame in that. Zach and I did some cleaning and I whipped up some chili.

Photo Jun 09, 5 43 51 PM

 

I guess most people don’t see chili as a summer food, but I’m very into a nice veggie chili in the warm weather, especially on dreary and rainy Sundays!

Despite all of my seemingly healthy choices this weekend, I still overdid it a bit in the eating department. I fear this month’s Diet Bet won’t turn out as well as the last one did, but I’m back on track today!

Question of the Day:
Do you have trouble making healthy choices when the weekend rolls around?

 

Leave a Reply

