Finding the 25th Hour

12 Jun

I googled “The 25th Hour” after writing this post, and it seems this idea isn’t as unique as I thought. But I will clarify that all ideas in this post are mine, or at least I thought they were… 🙂 

Almost everyone I know is aware that I’m a fitness buff. I actually enjoy working out, and I’m as busy as anyone else I know (not including people who have kids, but I definitely think you could use this system even if you have kids), yet somehow I manage to find a time to squeeze in my workouts. How do I do it? Well, I’ll let you in on a little secret…I’ve discovered a way to find an extra hour in every day. I’ll call it the 25th hour.

You guys, this is a million dollar idea, but I’m going to share it with you for free! Thank me later.

clock-03-20_33074_lg

1. Get out of bed 15 minutes earlier. (15 minutes)

I know, I know. I just jumped in with the hardest one, didn’t I? Sleep is very, very important — I definitely don’t want you to skimp on it, so since I started hard, I’m going to add an extra 15 minutes into the 25th hour (making it 25.25, but that’s just not as catchy), so you literally will not lose any sleep. I would say a vast majority of people I’ve talked to about sleep admit to hitting the snooze button more than once. “It’s a ritual!,” they say, “I feel like I’m getting more sleep!” — well, you’re not. You’re actually getting less sleep than if you just set your alarm to the time you are actually going to get out of bed, and it’s much less restorative sleep. I’m not going to pretend like I’m not guilty of this — I definitely am way guilty of this from time to time, but actually fighting that urge to hit the snooze button and actually get out of bed isn’t as bad as you think it’s going to be. I immediately busy myself with the task of getting caffeine into my system as quickly as possible, and that always makes everything better.

2. Shorten your shower (15 minutes)

I do not know what people do in the shower. I can be in and out in 10 minutes or less, even if I have to shave my legs. I can appreciate the need for a long, hot shower sometimes! Trust me! But YOU’RE the one who said you were busy, so get in and get out.

3. Condense your lunch hour (15 minutes)

Bring leftovers to work with you to reheat, or prep your lunch the night before. Figuring out what you’re going to eat, cooking it or even going for take out takes forever. Just have your lunch ready to go.

4. Have your workout clothes ready to go. (15 minutes)

No matter when you workout in the day, lay out the clothes or pack a gym bag. Perhaps you can use those extra morning minutes to do this?

5. Delegate night time chores. (15 minutes)

If you have a husband, wife, best friend, roommate, kid, fiance, dog or cat, give them something to do to help clean up at night! You don’t have to do everything yourself, girlfriend! (Ok, maybe leave the cats out of that. You’d waste 15 minutes trying to convince them that they should do anything at all for you).

There you go! An extra hour! My gift to you. Perhaps you should get that run in now.

Question of the Day:
How do you find the time to work out? 

Leave a Reply

