Photo Diary of the Past Couple Weeks

22 Aug

Well, good morning and happy Thursday! I’m heading to the beach on Saturday morning for my annual beach trip with friends. I’m pretty excited about the trip, but it’s come at a hectic time in my life, so it’s hard to not be stressed about everything I’m leaving behind — wedding planning, getting the new house together, and work. But, I’m going to try to relax and enjoy the trip! If you’ve been reading for a while (or you know me), you’ll know that this trip is when Zach proposed to me last year, so it will be fun to celebrate the one year anniversary of our engagement at the beach before our wedding next month (!!!).

Here’s what I’ve been up to lately:

Eating

I’ve been loving the fresh produce available in the summer time. This morning I had the most perfect peach ever on the side of my usual breakfast of a sausage/egg scramble, tomato and coffee:

photo (10)

 

That sliced tomato wasn’t too shabby either.

Last weekend, after the Crossfit competition, Zach and I went to the first “Rails and Ales Festival” here in Huntington. This is the first time they’ve had a beer festival in downtown Huntington, and it was so fun! When we entered, they gave us a tiny beer mug to sample all the beers. There were also tons of food vendors around, and we couldn’t really decide what to eat until we ran into a friend who had a brat sandwich on this amazing looking bread from the local bakery. We hightailed it over there, and it was one of the best sandwiches I’ve tasted. It had kraut, hot pepper jelly and was served on this amazing homemade cheddar bread. Yum!

rails and ales

 

The other evening, Zach had a late meeting for work so I was on my own for dinner. Our cupboards are kind of bare right now because we are going on vacation, but I had two frozen Tilapia fillets in the freezer and decided to whip up some fish tacos:

fish tacos

 

I’ve never made these before, but after I tasted them, I instantly decided that this would be what I made for everyone at the beach (we all take turns cooking dinner). Holy amazing and easy to make!! I basically just brushed the fish with butter and sprinkled it with my favorite spice blend (Bobby Flay’s 16 spice rub — minus the cinnamon and brown sugar) and broiled it until it was flaky. Then I threw a couple tortillas under the broiler for a few seconds on each side, chopped up some tomatoes, avocado, lettuce and cilantro and served. No salsa necessary (although a nice creme fraiche would probably be nice on top) and it was amazing. I didn’t have any corn tortillas, but next time I’ll use them instead of whole wheat. Yum!

Moving

We finally moved into our new home!

image (12)

Last Thursday, we rented a Uhaul and loaded up our little crowded apartment, and with some help from friends (Thanks, Mandee and Susie!!) got everything in and our apartment cleaned out in two days.

Zach had to drive the Uhaul and smile when I took photos.

Zach had to drive the Uhaul and smile when I took photos.

I took the two days off of work (we only paid 1/2 month rent at our apartment, so we had to be out by last Friday), and we worked for probably 20 hours those two days. It was quite a workout! But now we’re all moved in and slowly unpacking:

View from the front door. You can see a couple freeloaders have made themselves quite at home.

View from the front door. You can see a couple freeloaders have made themselves quite at home.

I really like the house! I love having a porch, I’ve been drinking my coffee out there every morning:

image (8)

Another thing I love, love about the house is the fact that we are on the very top of a hill, so we have an amazing sunset view:

Seriously, every evening! I'm going to miss this when I come home from work after it's already dark.

Seriously, every evening! I’m going to miss this when I come home from work after it’s already dark.

The one thing I’m not too crazy about is the lack of sidewalks around my neighborhood. Frank and I are big fans of our morning walk, and it’s kind of dicey because a lot of times we have to walk in the street because of the lack of a sidewalk. It also turns out that our street is way busier (especially in the morning) than we thought it would be, because we are right behind the hospital and it seems that the people who work at the rehab center behind the hospital use our street as a through way to get to work. That wouldn’t be so bad, but they go a little fast. I’ve already found myself getting very angry at people who speed up our hill in the mornings. I’m possibly going to contact somebody to see if there is something we can do about getting people to slow down on our street. Maybe that seems silly, but eventually we will have kids, and I would like to walk our kid to school (the elementary school is just down the hill). Right now, it’s a little too dangerous to do that. Does anyone have any suggestions how to go about getting people to slow down in a residential area? 

However, the one thing I do like about walking around our neighborhood is the hills! We are definitely getting more of a workout during our morning walk because of all the hills. I just wish the neighborhood were more walk-friendly.

Lifting Heavy

I’ve definitely been inspired by the Crossfit Competition I participated in last week to really push myself to up my weights at Crossfit. This morning we did the second Open WOD for the WV Crossfit Championship (which I’m not registered for, but it’s still fun to try the WODs).

image (16)

Hang clean squat thrusters are a complicated lift to do very heavy, so I decided to start kind of light. Usually I stick with about 45-55# for this lift, so I started with a 35# bar only and worked up from there. The workout was only 5 minutes long, and we had to reload the bar between each lift so I wrote down my planned weights to keep the flow:

image (17)

I ended up getting through the 9 lifts at 75#, which was very tough for me. That’s the most I’ve ever done for that lift, and I was proud of my performance. Oh, and in case you are wondering, the 10-9-8….3-2-1 was for burpees, sit ups and push ups. That was a tough one!

Like I said, next week I’ll be at the beach, but I didn’t want to take a full week off of Crossfit, so I scheduled a drop in at the local box in Ocean Isle. Despite being new to Crossfit, I knew it was common to “drop in” to a box if you’re visiting somewhere, so I took a chance and located the local box. I contacted them and they were super nice and welcoming! It cost me $15 to do a drop in class at 9:00 AM on Monday, so I’ll be sure to report back how it went.

Question of the Day:
Are you the type of person who works out while you’re on vacation? 

I personally love to work out while I’m on vacation. It’s a fun way to see the sights and since I’m not working, it is easier to find the time to get a workout in! 

 

One Response to “Photo Diary of the Past Couple Weeks”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My First Home DIY Project | Kristy's Health Revolution - February 21, 2014

    […] Zach and I bought our home last summer, it was pretty much move-in ready. We liked the paint colors and general decor of the house, so we […]

Leave a Reply

